Joe Louis* / Joe Lewis ‎– Back To The Beginning / Funky Disco

Rhythm Republic ‎– RRCD-57
CD, Compilation


1 Touch Me 6:42
2 Flyin High 7:33
3 Candle Light 8:02
4 Snoopy Dancin' 6:56
5 Funky Disco 5:00
6 Let Yourself Go 4:52
7 House Beat '95 4:10
8 Liquid Liquid 4:56
9 Crazy Wild 5:05
10 Confusion Land 5:00

Companies, etc.



NOTE: Track durations do not appear on credits.This compiles the Relief Records releases Joe Louis* - Back To The Beginning (Tracks 1 to 4) and Joe Lewis - Funky Disco (Tracks 5 to 10).

Other credits include:
"Professional Use CD For DJs"

1 to 4: Displayed credits to Jaime Read and Insync vs. Mysteron to not appear on this release. The label on this record states: "Written and produced by Joe Louis".

The music on this release was taken without permission from a DAT given to Joe Lewis when he was in the UK in 1995 by Jaime Read. The DAT contained music made during a period when Read was recording at the studios of 10th Planet with Lee Purkis, Chris Hartley and David Manuel (the 3 of whom ran 10th Planet and recorded as Insync vs. Mysteron). An earlier track, titled on this release as "Snoopy Dancin'", was recorded by Read at the studio of Justin David.

Read was keen to have his music released on Relief Records, a label with cult status in the underground UK scene. He gave the DAT to Joe Lewis for the purpose of giving to Relief as potential material for the label. Some time later these tracks appeared on Relief as a Joe Louis release, with no credit to the people who actually produced them. A while later, further material from this DAT was released under Louis/Lewis' name on Joe Lewis - The Beginning And The Ending on Lewis' own Target Records (US) label and on Joe Louis* - Netherlands EP on Basement 282, again with no mention of the actual producers.

10 years later (2005) Peacefrog Records in the UK, unaware of the actual origin of the music, released several tracks from these 3 records on a 12" entitled "Joe Lewis - He's Back" and an album entitled "Joe Lewis - The Return Of Joe Lewis".

The track titles shown for the tracks in question were given by Joe Lewis.

Target Music, Cajual Music (ASCAP)
P&C 1995, 1996 Relief Records

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: RRCD-57 AH603A
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L221
  • Rights Society: JASRAC


Add Review



July 9, 2003
edited about 1 year ago

The quality of the recording is amazing. I never found a better sounding cd.