Joe Satriani ‎– Shockwave Supernova

Sony Music ‎– 88875102901, Legacy ‎– 88875102901
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Shockwave Supernova
A2 Lost In A Memory
A3 Crazy Joey
A4 In My Pocket
B1 On Peregrine Wings
B2 Cataclysmic
B3 San Francisco Blue
B4 Keep On Movin'
C1 All Of My Life
C2 A Phase I'm Going Through
C3 Scarborough Stomp
C4 Butterfly And Zebra
D1 If There Is No Heaven
D2 Stars Race Across The Sky
D3 Goodbye Supernova

Companies, etc.


All songs written and arranged by Joe Satriani
Published by Strange Beautiful Music / Ascap / Kobalt

Joe Satriani - Guitars, Bass, Keyboards and Harmonica
Mike Keneally - Keyboards, additional rhythm Guitar on track 2
Marco Minnemann - Drums on tracks 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, 14 and 15
Vinnie Colaiuta - Drums on tracks 3, 4, 8 and 11
Bryan Beller - Bass on tracks 1, 2, 5, 7, 10, 12, 14 and 15
Chris Chaney - Bass on tracks 3, 4, 8 and 11
Bobby Vega - Bass on track 9
Tony Menjivar - Congas, Bongos and Percussion on track 9
John Cuniberti - Percussion on tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 6 and 14

Produced by Joe Satriani and John Cuniberti
Additional production by Mike Fraser

Recorded by John Cuniberti at Skywalker Sound and 25th Street Recording
Additional recording by Joe at Studio 21 and Mike Fraser at Skywalker Sound
Assisted at Skywalker by Robert Gatley with Judy Kirschner and Dann Michael Thompson
Assisted at 25th Street Recording by Scott Bergstrom

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 888751029019
  • Label Code: LC02361
  • Matrix / Runout: (Side A) 888 7510 2901 -A- -LVC- "Joe Loves Rubina" MPO
  • Matrix / Runout: (Side B) 888 7510 2901 -B- -LVC- " MPO
  • Matrix / Runout: (Side C) 888 7510 2901 -C- -LVC- "Joe Loves Rubina" MPO
  • Matrix / Runout: (Side D) 888 7510 2901 -D- -LVC- MPO

Other Versions (5 of 16) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
88875102452 Joe Satriani Shockwave Supernova(CD, Album) Legacy, Sony Music 88875102452 Europe 2015 Sell This Version
none Joe Satriani Shockwave Supernova(15xFile, AAC, Album, 256) Sony Music none 2015
88875099682 Joe Satriani Shockwave Supernova(CD, Album, Dig) Sony Music, Legacy 88875099682 France 2015 Sell This Version
8887 510245-2 Joe Satriani Shockwave Supernova(CD, Album) Legacy 8887 510245-2 Argentina 2015 Sell This Version
none Joe Satriani Shockwave Supernova (CD, Album, Num, Promo, Pla) Sony Music, Legacy none Europe 2015 Sell This Version



Add Review



August 21, 2015
Funny thing about Joe Satriani is you either love him or hate him. People that listen to rock mainly like lyrics in the songs. Most great rock bands wrote great songs. Enough said. If you play electric guitar then it's another story. I've been playing guitar for almost 30 years and in my quest to learn I found Joe Satriani back in 1988 when I was given 'Surfing With The Alien' by a friend that worked in a bar. A tourist had left the tape behind and the barman hated it. I played it and I loved it and ever since I have collected every album he has released. I even saw him live in 1995. Anyway, 'Shockwave Supernova' is now blasting from my Rega Planar 2, another accident. I usually buy Satch on CD, why I love vinyl, but most of his releases over the last 20 years have been on CD with no LP format as an alternative. I went to my local record store to buy the CD and he was sold out but had the LP, I couldn't decline and now I'm glad I didn't. This album sounds big and inventive with melodies and textures that crawl under your skin. The music is fluid and elastic with a wide palate of guitar tones and styles and the virtuosity that flows effortlessly from Satch's fingers. The drums, mainly performed by Marco Minnemann are stunning, it's like multiple drummers. Vinnie Colauita is on a few tracks too, which may mean that these are from the 'Unstoppable Momentum' sessions. Mike Keneally plays funky keyboards while Bryan Beller pounds the basslines down. The album is mixed and mastered by Satch's long time sidekick John Cuniberti. While some people might think all Satch albums sound the same, this sounds like no other, only a rockin' good ride into the cosmos!