Joel Hinkle ‎– As The Flesh Departs...

Dark Winter ‎– dw036
8 × File, MP3, 192 kbps


1 Tribute 5:00
2 Burial 5:50
3 Attempted Repent 6:14
4 As The Flesh Departs 7:08
5 The Fading 5:56
6 Insectarium 5:59
7 Dissolver 7:01
8 Quiet Moment 9:43

Companies, etc.


  • Composed By, Artwork [Cd Art], Layout, DesignJoel Hinkle


Recorded, and mastered in The Hallway, Springfield, Illinois



Add Review



June 3, 2009
The American artist Joel Hinkle has so far mainly been an amateur musician. The internet offers very little information on him. A page on SoundClick gives some scant information suggesting he has made several albums so far (probably self-released), has a fondness for ethnical instruments (didgeridoo, djembe etc.) and is not on any label yet. As far as I can determine, "As The Flesh Departs" on the net label Dark Winter is a first step in that direction.

So... what does this record offer us? Everything seems to point to dark ambient and that is largely correct. The album kicks off strongly with a five minute piece of dissonant resonation of... yes, of what exactly? An electronic organ is probably the closest to the truth. Subsequently you enter darker and especially calmer waters, inclining more towards drones as far as I'm concerned. Although it doesn't reach the level of the first track anywhere, the album does have its moments (for instance "Insectarium"). Not a record that grips and oppresses me (but maybe I have been blunted by too much dark music), but not a bad record either. This is an artist that can make interesting music, although the majority of the album with its drones is nothing out of the ordinary. I'm having trouble recommending this album to everyone but the dark ambient and drone lovers. Then again, it has been released under the CC-license on a net label, so you can't go terribly wrong with it either.

- Originally written in Dutch, English translation by the author.