John Acquaviva ‎– Skills

Stud!o K7 ‎– !K7072CD
CD, Mixed

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Fingers Inc. Can You Feel It
2 Blunted Dummies House 4 All
3 John Acquaviva Presents The James Gang (2) Hummer
Presenter – John Acquaviva
4 Nightmares On Wax Dextrous
5 Laj & Quakerman Restoration
6 The Preacher (2) The Good Omen (T.S. Club Edit)
7 The Boyz From Brazil Chica Chica Boom Chic (Stars Mix)
8 Salt City Orchestra I Write The Book (Hardback Dub)
9 Phuture We Are Phuture
10 Laurent Garnier Colored City
11 Cevin Fisher's Big Freak Freaks Come Out
12 Ramirez La Musica Tremenda (La Tormenta Mix)
13 Massive Man* C'est What
14 V Relevance
15 Blue Icon Do This Funky Move Mix
16 X-Press 2 Tranz Euro Express (I. Pooley Remix)
Remix – I. Pooley*

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 30003 70722 3
  • Barcode (Scanned): 730003707223
  • Matrix / Runout: CDSNV K7072CD (98223226)
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L062
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 1N04
  • Label Code: LC 7306

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
!K7072LP Various Skills(2xLP, Comp) Stud!o K7 !K7072LP Germany 1998 Sell This Version
!K7072cd John Acquaviva Skills(CD, Mixed, Promo) Stud!o K7 !K7072cd Germany 1998 Sell This Version
!K7072EP John Acquaviva Presents The James Gang (2) John Acquaviva Presents The James Gang (2) - John Acquaviva Presents Skills EP.(12", EP) Stud!o K7 !K7072EP Germany 1998 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



May 11, 2007
edited over 10 years ago
This album represents John's funky flow as well as the variety that he puts into his sets. I was fortunate enough to experience one of his sets in Cleveland a few years back, and am always looking for another opportunity to go "deep into the vibe of house music". This album is not the same as one of his preformances, BUT IS WORTH A LISTEN AT LEAST. It is definitely one of those albums that would require the mixer to have "skills" in order to fully appreciate the man behind the decks.


January 22, 2006
edited over 11 years ago

I recently dug out a copy of John Acquaviva presenting Skills, and realized fairly quickly why it was that it had a inch thick of dust on it! So what Skills are these exactly?? John Acquaviva’s mixing is appalling to say the least, not to mention the over modulated recording, who on earth let this person near the decks perhaps he was doing the hoovering at the time, there's more fluff on this set of records than the floor. That said there are some nice tunes on this mixed cd, beginning with the intro by Fingers Inc. which is a classic and Salt City Orchestra's - I Write The Book (Hard Back Dub) is great as is Cevin Fisher's - The Freaks Come Out. In short, with the exception of 2 tracks at over 8 minutes! the rest sit at a little over 4 per track, it's hardly worth the listen. It’s hard to know how this cd ever made it to the shop’s, it’s even harder to listen to. All in all a pretty bad choice of tunes to mix really.