John Foxx ‎– The Quiet Man

Metamatic ‎– META24CD
CD, Album


1 The Quiet Man 17:33
2 A Man Made Of Shadows 8:45
3 Cathedral Oceans 11:51
4 The Grey Suit 8:05
5 Shifting City 9:48

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5060079261028
  • Matrix / Runout: manufactured by optimal media production A975089-01
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L571
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 9721



Add Review



June 9, 2012

The Quiet Man has been a long time coming. We begin with the awakening of the Quiet Man living in Islington. He leaves in the morning and wanders into the deserted, overgrown city. The ghostly Royal Albert Hall and other large buildings living amongst are found amongst the overgrown Hyde Park – now a forest. Old shops were now covered in leaves and dust. Through different seasons he still wanders and in winter walks across the frozen Thames. He reminisces about the past and the busy city as it once was.
This album contains Foxx’s narrative in spoken word by Justin Barton. The words are woven into the fabric of Foxx’s ambient compositions with its roomy piano and giant space. I found the album interesting in the way I did when first reading early books by JG Ballard; the same dream of the forgotten, empty city after all the people have left. It leaves you feeling like the last man alive, this project does just that; lose yourself in the derelict space.