John Lennon ‎– Imagine

Apple Records ‎– SW 3379
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Imagine 2:59
A2 Crippled Inside 3:43
A3 Jealous Guy 4:10
A4 It's So Hard
Saxophone – King Curtis
A5 I Don't Want To Be A Soldier
Saxophone – King CurtisTambourine – Mike Pinder
B1 Give Me Some Truth 3:11
B2 Oh My Love 2:40
B3 How Do You Sleep 5:29
B4 How? 3:37
B5 Oh Yoko! 4:18

Companies, etc.



"Imagine the clouds dripping. Dig a hole in your garden to put them in." Yoko '63

Comes with inserts:
* Poster of Lennon playing on piano in studio.
* 4"x6" postcard of either Lennon Straddling a Pig, or a different image of a Nymph-Like photo of Yoko and Lennon

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label A): SW-1-3379
  • Matrix / Runout (Label B): SW-2-3379
  • Matrix / Runout (A Side Etched): SW-1-3379 Z15 sf
  • Matrix / Runout (B Side Etched): SW-2-3379 Z16 sf
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2; A Side Etched): SW-1-3379 Z13 sf
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2; B Side Etched): SW-2-3379 Z13 sf
  • Matrix / Runout (A Side Stamped): ✲ Bell Sound
  • Matrix / Runout (B SIde Stamped): ✲ Bell Sound

Other Versions (5 of 237) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
PAS 10004, 1E 064 ◦ 04914 John Lennon Imagine(LP, Album) Apple Records, Apple Records PAS 10004, 1E 064 ◦ 04914 UK 1971 Sell This Version
CDP 7 46641 2, CD-PAS 10004 John Lennon Imagine(CD, Album) EMI, EMI CDP 7 46641 2, CD-PAS 10004 UK & Europe 1987 Sell This Version
8X-PAS 10004, IE 344 04914 John Lennon Imagine(8-Trk, Album) EMI, EMI 8X-PAS 10004, IE 344 04914 UK Unknown Sell This Version
SW-3379 John Lennon, Plastic Ono Band* With The Flux Fiddlers John Lennon, Plastic Ono Band* With The Flux Fiddlers - Imagine(LP, Album, RE) Capitol Records SW-3379 US 1983 Sell This Version
8XW 3379 John Lennon Imagine(8-Trk, Album) Apple Records 8XW 3379 US 1972 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



February 24, 2014
edited over 3 years ago

The only interesting songs on this album are 'Jealous Guy' and 'Give Me Some Truth'. Lennon angry is so much more interesting than the eternally happy Sir Paul, and this figures in well with Lennon's vocal on 'Give Me Some Truth'. McCartney would have never written a song named 'I'm a Loser', and 'Jealous Guy' finds John contemplating his own insecurities with honesty.

'Imagine' is many people's favorite Lennon song. I absolutely loathe it. I believe I have commented on this before, but the lyrics are full of communist propaganda. No heaven. No God. No possessions. Who lives in this world? Nobody. Follow the advice of this song, and you are probably a real 'nowhere man'. As you come from no country, because there are no countries, right?

Who lives in this world? I say 'nobody', but there are lots of people who 'aspire' to this songs intentions. I often wonder if Lennon, who was smarter than your average bear, did not reflect on the naivete of this song in later years. It's worse than McCartney's 'Silly Love Songs'. Most people can ignore Paul's fluff of cuteness, but aging hippies took Lennon's 'Imagine' as a mandate. And they are probably STILL carrying around pictures of Chairman Mao.