John Maus ‎– A Collection Of Rarities And Previously Unreleased Material

Ribbon Music ‎– RBN018LP
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Repress


A1 North Star (2008)
A2 The Law (2003)
A3 Castles In The Grave (2010)
A4 Angel Of The Night (2010)
A5 Mental Breakdown (2004)
A6 Bennington (2007)
A7 Big Dumb Man (2003)
A8 No Title (Molly) (2008)
B1 Lost (2003)
B2 All Aboard (2007)
B3 This Is The Beat (2005)
B4 My Hatred Is Magnificent (2008)
B5 The Fear (2003)
B6 Fish With Broken Dreams (1999)
B7 Rock The Bone (2008)
B8 I Don't Eat Human Beings (2008)


Black vinyl with DL

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 801397601814



Add Review



May 10, 2020

This pressing looks and sounds great, no visible flaws whatsoever. The sound is as clear as you're going to achieve given the high tech lo fi quality of the tracks, with minimal surface noise. It's a fine press.

16 tracks that will (or may) enthrall, confound, disrupt, mesmerize, impress and please to various degrees. Richly melodic and memorable, it rewards repeated listens. There's only one John Maus, and there's only one "Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material." Apocalyptic dreamy demon neon lo fi new wave high tech noir that wears its heart, wears its everything on its sleeve...even if you're never really sure what it all means.

When I first got the cd in 2012, I have to admit I was a little taken aback. The material is some of his most challenging, like the shadowy cousin of "We Must Become..." I couldn't connect with half of the tunes. In my experience, John is the kind of artist that brings such a wide and deep vision to his work, it takes time to discover and appreciate. And so in time I changed my tune. This collection contains some of his best work.