Jon Kennedy ‎– Useless Wooden Toys

Grand Central Records ‎– GCCD136
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Cut Up 3:30
2 You, You & You
Flute – Bernard Moss
3 Heavyweight Freight 4:30
4 Sand People 3:39
5 We Milk Life But Dress Smooth 3:13
6 Save The People 4:07
7 Pick Up Sticks 2:47
8 The Beef 3:12
9 Useless Wooden Toys 3:47
10 Lodestar
Vocals [Vocal Harmonies] – Sarah Scott
11 All A Dream 2:32
12 Never Wed An Old Man 4:24
13 They Made Us Too Many 4:45


  • ArtworkMint Layout
  • Written-ByBernard Moss (tracks: 2), Sarah Scott (tracks: 10)
  • Written-by, Arranged By, Producer, Performer, Engineer, Drums, Guitar, Bass, Vocals, Keyboards [Keys], Scratches, Noises, Recorded ByJon Kennedy


Released in standard jewel case with a folded, single page insert booklet.

Jon Kennedy is published by Grand Central Music Publishing. All other writers Copyright Control.

All instruments recorded @ "Scruff Towers" in Stockport, U.K. except "You, You And You" Vocals and "We Milk Life But Dress Smooth" full track recorded @ "Annion Lee's" in Bristol, U.K. and "The Beef" contra bass recorded @ "The Manse" in Porth Levin, Cornwall, UK.

℗ 2005 Grand Central Records
© 2005 Grand Central Records

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 82434 11222 3

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
JKF012 Jon Kennedy Useless Wooden Toys(13xFile, MP3, 320) Jon Kennedy Federation JKF012 Czech Republic 2008
GC 017 P Jon Kennedy Useless Wooden Toys(CD, Album, Promo) Grand Central Records GC 017 P UK 2005 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



May 11, 2016
edited about 1 year ago
I've got good news for the vinyl record lovers. Jon Kennedy has launched a project to get Useless Wooden Toys on vinyl! He's doing it on Diggers Factory, a collaborative vinyl plateforme. He needs to reach 200 preorders to make it happen: So lets do it and add this masterpiece!

I like to add that a 2LP for 15€ is a pretty good deal...


October 31, 2011

For his third album, USELESS WOODEN TOYS, Jon Kennedy goes back to his hip-hop roots the thick beats of "Cut Up" and "Heavyweight Freight," though those who miss his jazz-inflected outings will be reassured by "You, You & You" that he hasn't lost his touch at that either. Kennedy tries his throat out with vocals on "We Milk Life But Dress Smooth," but it's the swinging double bass that seems to stand out the most. He tries his hand at a more dub-oriented track with "Save The People," though it feels slightly out of place amongst his other work. But "Pick Up Sticks" gets back to the more gentle work from his earlier albums, and is that a bit of country blues that I hear in the title track? That feeling lingers on into "Lodestar," which features Sarah Scott's aching vocals. The mysterious vocal sample on "Never Wed An Old Man" seems like it's beamed straight from an Irish folk song into a smooth jazz setting, and "They Made Us Too Many" takes the album out on bits of harp and string shimmers and, of course, the drums. Useless? Not in the least.