Joy Division ‎– Misplaced - Rare And Unreleased Rehearsals 1977-1980

CD, Unofficial Release


Rehearsals 1977
1 At A Later Date 2:55
2 Inside The Line 2:36
3 Warsaw 2:51
4 Failures 3:54
5 No Love Lost (Instrumental) 1:00
6 Ice Age 3:33
Rehearsals 1978
7 Pictures In My Mind (Detail) 1:21
8 Pictures In My Mind 3:48
9 Shadowplay (Instrumental) 4:58
Rehearsals 1979
10 The Kill (Detail) 1:07
11 Instrumental Jam 1:31
12 From Night To Day 8:21
13 A Means To An End 4:12
14 A Means To An End 3:22
Rehearsals 1980
15 Misplaced 7:51
16 Misplaced 9:39
17 In A Lonely Place 1:00
18 In A Lonely Place 7:30
19 In A Lonely Place 5:43

Companies, etc.



[single 1CD digipack edition of the original 2LP vinyl bootleg, omitting two tracks,
reproducing the original LP artwork referring to tracks on LP sides]

"Recorded by the band during various rehearsal sessions between 1977-1980"

Text behind clear CD tray:
"Contained on this CD, is the most comprehensive collection of Warsaw/Joy Division
rehearsals to ever be available. 'Misplaced' is one of the most important Joy Division
audio documents to surface in the last 35 years. Shows the band progressing along
so quickly, and ending with the final track they ever wrote together 'In A Lonely
Place', an autobiographical account many would say of the final days of Ian Curtis."

Text on back:
"2013 Daylight Records Luxemborg [sic!] Released under exclusive licence All Rights

[Track 12 is an early rehearsal jam version of "A Means To An End"]
[Tracks 15-16 are early rehearsal jam versions of "In A Lonely Place"]
[according to bassist Peter Hook's book 'Unknown Pleasures', the band used
TJ Davidson's Rehearsal Studio from 1978 to 1980 and switched to Pinky's
in Salford for the final rehearsal sessions on tracks 15-19]

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: [Regency Media logo] MISPLACED 147022.1 2P22035
  • Mastering SID Code: ifpi LN98
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 6Z03