Joy Division ‎– Still

Factory ‎– FACT 40
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold Sleeve

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Exercise One 3:05
A2 Ice Age 2:22
A3 The Sound Of Music 3:53
A4 Glass 3:55
A5 The Only Mistake 4:15
B1 Walked In Line 2:46
B2 The Kill 2:14
B3 Something Must Break 2:47
B4 Dead Souls 4:52
B5 Sister Ray
Arranged By – Joy DivisionWritten-By – Cale*, Reed*, Tucker*, Morrison*
C1 Ceremony 3:50
C2 Shadowplay 3:54
C3 Means To An End 4:01
C4 Passover 5:05
C5 New Dawn Fades 4:01
C6 Twenty Four Hours 4:00
D1 Transmission 3:33
D2 Disorder 3:20
D3 Isolation 3:05
D4 Decades 5:22
D5 Digital 3:53

Companies, etc.



Tracks A1, A5, B1 and B2 recorded in April 1979 at Strawberry Studios, Stockport, during sessions for the "Unknown Pleasures" album.
Tracks A2 and B4 recorded in October–November 1979 at Cargo Studios, Rochdale, during sessions for the "Licht und Blindheit" single.
Track A3 recorded in January 1980 at Pennine Sound Studios, Oldham, during sessions for the "Love Will Tear Us Apart" single.
Track A4 recorded in October 1978 at Cargo Studios, Rochdale, originally released on "A Factory Sample" in 1979.
Track B3 recorded in July–August 1979 at Strawberry Studios, Stockport, during sessions for the "Transmission" single.
Track B5 recorded live at the Moonlight Club, London on April 3, 1980.
Tracks C1 to D5 recorded live at High Hall, Birmingham University on May 2, 1980.
Published by Sunbury Music Ltd.
A Fractured Music • A Factory Record

There are five UK vinyl versions on Factory:
Initial run released in a hardbound linen cloth sleeve.
Limited edition white gatefold sleeve with blue letters.
Cardboard embossed gatefold sleeve with grey labels, some "TOWN HOUSE" mastered, some not (this release).
Reissue with a standard gatefold sleeve (records unload to the outside).

Track C6 unlisted.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: FACT 40 A1 THE CHICKEN WONT STOP CR
  • Matrix / Runout: FACT 40 B1 -< -< -< -< -< -< CR
  • Matrix / Runout: FACT 40 C1 -< -< -< -< CR
  • Matrix / Runout: FACT 40 D1 THE CHICKEN STOPS HERE CR

Other Versions (5 of 117) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
FACT 40 Joy Division Still(2xLP, Album, Clo) Factory FACT 40 UK 1981 Sell This Version
RC 3989, RC-3989 Joy Division Still - Part 2(Cass, Album, Unofficial) RC Company, RC Company RC 3989, RC-3989 Saudi Arabia Unknown Sell This Version
FACT 40 Joy Division Still(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Clo) Factory FACT 40 Italy 1981 Sell This Version
FACD 40 Joy Division Still(CD, Album, RE) Factory FACD 40 UK 1990 Sell This Version
Fact 40, 60025 Joy Division Still(2xLP, Album, RE, RP, Gat) Factory, Factory Fact 40, 60025 France 1984 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



February 27, 2016
Anyone, this UK edition with or without white ribbon? Please.


September 21, 2013
edited over 5 years ago

I found this from a car boot sale for 50p a long while back. It's one of the best live/studio compilations I've ever heard, nothing sounds forced on to the record and there's no filler at all


August 9, 2002
A mixture of Live and Studio recordings - released after the death of Ian Curtis - comes in a 'cloth' sleeve with ribbon down the side - classic record, but bloody pricy!