Junkie XL ‎– Saturday Teenage Kick

Roadrunner Records ‎– RR 8792 2, Roadrunner Records ‎– RR 8792-2, Medcom ‎– RR 8792 2, Medcom ‎– RR 8792-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Underachievers
Written-By [' Tail Crush' Sample] – The New Bomb Turks
2 Billy Club 3:58
3 No Remorse
Lyrics By – Junkie XL
4 Metrolike 5:37
5 X-Panding Limits 3:15
6 War
Lyrics By – Junkie XL
7 Saturday Teenage Kick
Written-By [' Divide And Conquer' Sample] – Bob Mould
8 Dealing With The Roster 5:27
9 Fight
Lyrics By – Junkie XL
10 Melange 4:04
11 Def Beat 4:54
12.1 Future In Computer Hell 8:03
12.2 Mulu 9:48

Companies, etc.



Released in a jewel case sleeve with white tray inlay. The artwork suggests an OMMUS compatible program embedded into the CD, it is however not present. Track 12 lasts 17:51, consisting of 'Future In Computer Hell' (8:03) directly followed by 'Mulu' (the track also appears on a different version of the album).

Guitar sounds recorded at the Galaxy Studios. Mastered at Studio Jules. Lyrics and raps recorded at the Stilteloos Studio. All songs published by U.D.S.C.C.M. (Administered by Pennies From Heaven Publishing) / Roadster Music B.V., except No Remorse/War/Fight published by Roadster Music B.V., Saturday Teenage Kick published by Bug Music B.V. / U.D.S.C.C.M. (Administered by Pennies From Heaven Publishing) / Roadster Music B.V.

© 1997 The All Blacks B.V.
℗ 1997 The All Blacks B.V.

Cat# on spine: RR 8792 2
Cat# on back sleeve: RR 8792-2

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (String): 016861879228
  • Barcode (Printed): 0 16861 87922 8
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): SONOPRESS T-3891-1/ RR87922 A
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI L022
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0761
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): T-3891-1/ RR87922 B
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI LB 46
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0773
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): Sonopress T-3891-1/ RR87922 B
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI LB 46
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0794
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 4): Sonopress T-3891-1/ RR87922 B
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI LB 46
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 0725
  • Label Code: LC 9231
  • Rights Society: stemra
  • Other (Distribution Code): INT 399.976
  • Other (Distribution Code): MU 760
  • Other (Distribution Code): 7 8792 2

Other Versions (5 of 15) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
RR 8792-1 Junkie XL Saturday Teenage Kick(2xLP, Album) Roadrunner Records RR 8792-1 Netherlands 1997 Sell This Version
RR 8792-2 Junkie XL Saturday Teenage Kick(CD, Album) Roadrunner Records RR 8792-2 US 1997 Sell This Version
RRCY 1062 Junkie XL Saturday Teenage Kick(CD, Album) Roadrunner Records RRCY 1062 Japan 1998 Sell This Version
RR 8792-4, MR-502-4 Junkie XL Saturday Teenage Kick(Cass, Album) Roadrunner Records, Moon Records (2), Ukrainian Records RR 8792-4, MR-502-4 Ukraine 2002 Sell This Version
RR 8792-4 Junkie XL Saturday Teenage Kick(Cass, Album) Roadrunner Records RR 8792-4 Malaysia 1997 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



November 1, 2017
edited about 1 year ago

I've been listening to this again over the past week and I'm starting to realize why I loved this album so much as a teenager. The only band that I know of that has even come close to the spice that Saturday Teenage Kick has is the Prodigy - and even they're not on the same kind of level that this album is on (then there's Urban Dance Squad, but that's kind of cheating since Rudeboy was in that band too).

Sure there are some moments that feel lacking, but there is a really special feel to this album that I haven't gotten from any other album aside from Junkie XL's other early works. From the beginning hard hitting groove of "Underachievers" to the hidden track "Mulu", where the album says "oh, you thought I was done? Guess again!" and comes at you with more energetic beats, it never feels TOO dull. Even when it's at its lowest, it sounds GREAT; it really is an album that blends big beat, metal, rock, hip hop, and techno together perfectly.

It really is phenomenal how far Tom has come - scoring for blockbusters such as Mad Max Fury Road and Divergent - but there is still something so special about these first few albums. I don't know what it is - maybe it's nostalgia - but I absolutely love this album, and there's nothing that comes quite as close to it.

Highlights: "Billy Club", "Metrolike", "Saturday Teenage Kick", "Fight", "Melange", "Mulu"


October 1, 2015

One of my favorite Electronic album, so much souvenirs with songs like "no remorse", "fight" or "war". Sound like synthtetic rock. Bigbeat flava, techno, rock and hip-hop inspiration.
Really nice production and sound design, junkie XL was really inspired.
I've listen to this album lot of times in my childhood and it have a special value for me.
Some of the songs in this album appears in video games like "need for speed".


April 20, 2004
I just have to say... this is one of the best electronica albums I have. I got it used, so I didn't know what I was getting in for but I was pleasantly surprised. Rude Boy's rapping put me off at first, but I got used to it very quickly. The beats are amazing... the songs are catchy and the overall atmosphere of the disc is very comfortable to the first time listener. JXL is definately a master at what he does. If you can pick this album up, I highly recommend you invest your money. You won't be sorry if you're a fan of good progressive house. 9/10