Justus Köhncke ‎– Bass Ist Musik

Kompakt Klassiks ‎– KOMPAKT KLASSIKS CD3
CD, Compilation, Digipack

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Jet 5:16
2 Was Ist Musik 4:59
3 2 After 909 (Maxi Version) 8:08
4 So Weit Wie Noch Nie
Composed By – Jürgen Paape
5 Timecode (Maxi Version) 7:47
6 Elan (Maxi Version) 8:11
7 Weiche Zäune (Maxi Version) 8:48
8 Advance 8:06
9 Feuerland 7:45
10 Parage 8:43
11 The Answer Is Yes (Maxi Version) 5:38

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 880319073625



Add Review



September 6, 2013

From Kompakt.fm: One of Cologne's most revered personalities in electronic music is producer, singer and DJ JUSTUS KÖHNCKE. A true Kompakt staple since his ground-breaking "Was Ist Musik?" album from 2002, he continuously proved to be an extraordinary artist whose output sports rare lyrical and transformative properties, not shying away from German Schlager-like vocals or straight-up Disco references. It's Köhncke's highly idiosyncratic (and personal) approach to dance music as we know it that informs every track, every sound coming out of his studio, making it a goosebumps-inducing experience and a communal event. Therefore, Kompakt is extremely proud to present BASS IST MUSIK, a definitive collection of both signature tracks (like mythical 2004 dance floor hit "Timecode") and underground favorites (2002's "Jet" comes to mind here, as does the memory of sweat-laden parties in Cologne's most hidden basements), dauntlessly cutting through three full-length releases and countless 12"s between 2001 and now. Needless to say we included Köhncke's legendary remake of Jürgen Paape's towering "So Weit Wie Noch Nie" and leftfield classic "Weiche Zäune", a much-adored plea for more open-mindedness in club culture, stylistically or otherwise. Not only a celebration of the artist's earliest years, "Bass Ist Musik" also invites you to discover more recent works like 2006 headbanger "Advance" or 2008's "Feuerland", an expertly crafted cover of Krautrock legend Michael Rother's early 70s cult jam, making this a perfectly balanced selection worthy of the KOMPAKT KLASSIKS seal of approval.