Keane ‎– Under The Iron Sea

Island Records ‎– CID8167, Island Records Group ‎– 9878227
CD, Album


Companies, etc.



Made in the EU.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 0602498782279
  • Barcode (Scanned): 602498782279
  • Label Code: LC00407
  • Rights Society: BIEM/SABAM
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 9878227 02
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI L135
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 04AN
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2&3): 9878227 01 [Universal logo x4]
  • Matrix / Runout (Mould hub, variant 2&3): MADE IN THE UK
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2&3): IFPI L136
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0469
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 04A0
  • Mould SID Code (Mould hub, variant 3): IFPI 04A1
  • Mould SID Code (Mould hub, crossed out, variant 3): IFPI 0503
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 4): 9878227 01 [Universal logo x4]
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI L136
  • Mould SID Code (Rim, variant 4): IFPI 04AB
  • Mould SID Code (Mould, variant 4): IFPI 0502
  • Matrix / Runout (Mould hub, variant 4): MADE IN THE UK

Other Versions (5 of 51) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
060249856827 Keane Under The Iron Sea(CD, Album, Sli) Island Records 060249856827 Brazil 2006 Sell This Version
9859730 Keane Under The Iron Sea(Cass, Album) Island Records 9859730 Indonesia 2006 Sell This Version
DI9466/171 850-6 Keane Under The Iron Sea(CD, Album, S/Edition, Sli + DVD-V, S/Edition) Island Records DI9466/171 850-6 South Korea 2007 Sell This Version
060251718506 Keane Under The Iron Sea(CD, Album, S/Edition + DVD-V, S/Edition) Island Records 060251718506 Philippines 2007 Sell This Version
9856827 Keane Under The Iron Sea(CD, Album) Island Records, Interscope Records 9856827 New Zealand 2006 Sell This Version



Add Review



February 21, 2014
Under the Iron Sea is Keane's only real foray into darker themes and somewhat experimental instrumentation. Their upbeat piano-driven style is still present here, but with a heavy moodiness to it. The album starts with the dark, dreamy "Atlantic" which sets a cohesive mood for the next five songs, all of which are excellent and fit together nicely.

Unfortunately, the latter half is where the album falls flat. Starting with "Put it Behind You" the cohesive mood breaks and the remaining five tracks become Keane's usual aimless upbeat piano-rock. They lack a sense of direction and feel like filler content, a stark contrast from the first half of the album. Under the Iron Sea would have been better suited as an EP with only the first six songs.