Kelley Polar ‎– I Need You To Hold On While The Sky Is Falling

Environ ‎– ENVCD006
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 A Feeling Of The All-Thing
Vocals [Additional] – Claire de Lune
2 Zeno Of Elea 3:13
3 Entropy Reigns (In The Celestial City)
Vocals [Additional] – Claire de Lune
4 Chrysanthemum
Producer [Additional Production Assistance] – Troy Rogers
5 Rosenband
Cello – Rupert "Tony" ThompsonStrings [Additional] – The Kelley Polar Quartet*Violin – Ealain "Reemish" McMullin, Elise "Greatest Of All Time" Kuder*, Jesse "J-Hole" Holstein
6 Satellites 6:39
7 A Dream In Three Parts (On Themes By Enesco)
Cello – Rupert "Tony" ThompsonComposed By [Themes By] – Enesco*Strings [Additional] – The Kelley Polar Quartet*Violin – Ealain "Reemish" McMullin, Elise "Greatest Of All Time" Kuder*, Jesse "J-Hole" Holstein
8 We Live In An Expanding Universe 4:55
9 Sea Of Sine Waves 5:40
10 Thurston And Grisha 2:26
11 In Paradisum 2:46

Companies, etc.



"This album is for my dear father, Eastman Polar, a lover of art and science"

Mixed in Brooklyn, New York.

The copyright in this sound recording and artwork is owned by Environ LLC.
All songs published by Hydroelectric Music (ASCAP) administered by Bug Music Inc. ℗+© 2007 Environ LLC. Made in the USA.

Released in a digipak.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8 23780 20062 6
  • Matrix / Runout: RPP-CA CR53616 ENVCD006 I NEED YOU TO HOLD ON
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



October 19, 2015

I NEED TO HOLD ON WHILE THE SKY IS FALLING sees Kelley Polar advancing from the disco-electro of his first album into new territory, like the hymn-like house feel of "A Feeling Of The All-Thing" or the singer-songwriter earnestness of "Zeno Of Elea." There's a cool 80s sheen on "Entropy Reigns (In The Celestial City)" and a a great harmonic layering of voices on "Chrysanthemum." The space disco makes a huge entrance in "Rosenband," whereas he gets his romance on with "A Dream In Three Parts (On Themes By Enesco)." "Sea Of Sine Waves" comes back to the electro, and he strips down "Thurston And Grisha" to just a synth and his voice before the cascades of "In Paradisum" come in to close out the album. The sky might not fall, but there's plenty to hold on to here.


November 26, 2008

For those who follow Environ simply for Metro Area (like I used to), look again. Kelley Polar is truly taking it to the next level. The sound is still largely that of the disco rehashing and digitising the label is so well known for, but on "I Need You To Hold On While The Sky Is Falling", Kelley Polar clearly puts songwriting at equal - if not greater - importance with production. So one could then conjecture that what we have here is basically Metro Area with words. And while that is perhaps a most apt description, it severely understates the beauty and power of this album, for Kelley Polar's previous album on Environ, "Love Songs From The Hanging Gardens", could easily be painted with the same brush. So what separates the two? Focus. Where "Love Songs..." seemed to meander stylistically, "I Need You..." is more focused, with common undercurrents featured across the tracks, tightening the collection as an album. That said, there are some clearly exceptional moments here: the shimmering "Rosenband", which somewhat functions as the album title track (much like New Order's "Fine Time" on "Technique"); the aching "Satellites", showing us that not only Luomo can effortlessly pull off the mid song key change; and the infinitely funky "Sea Of Sine Waves", which will you floating blissfully long after it's over.

There are some easy criticisms of this album; the long-winded emo-sounding title, the exceedingly bright tone of the album, the too short feeling of many of the tracks. But really, these are all cheap shots. What we have here is a rarity in this day and age, and especially in the world of electronic music: a carefully constructed album that maintains brilliance and momentum throughout, without coming across (too) overly calculated or pretentious. It easily sits among the greatest albums of 2008, and possibly among the best in all of electronic music.