Ken Ishii ‎– Future In Light

Run Recordings ‎– RUN 33759
CD, Album


1 Awakening 6:14
2 Visionary World 6:16
3 Auburnia 5:22
4 Future Is What We Are 4:06
5 Fadeless 7:32
6 Liquid Metal 6:17
7 Melting Point 6:31
8 Presto 6:44
9 Beep Twist 6:47
10 Strobe Enhanced 5:59
11 Creative State 6:32



Track 11: US Only Bonus Track
"Future Is What We Are" is dedicated to Osamu Sato, the WBA Super Bantamweight Champion.
Recorded at Far East Lab, Tokyo for 2001-2002. Mixed at M2R, Tokyo. Mastered at M's Disk Mastering.
All tracks published by 70 Drums Publishing. Under license from 70 Drums / Musicmine Inc.
(C) 2003 :\run recordings (R) 2002 70 Drums

Other Versions (5 of 6) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
IDCK-1001 Ken Ishii Future In Light(CD, Album) 70Drums IDCK-1001 Japan 2002 Sell This Version
EXLP0302 Ken Ishii Future In Light(2xLP) Exceptional EXLP0302 UK 2003 Sell This Version
IDCK-1001 Ken Ishii Future In Light(10xFile, MP3, Album, 320) 70Drums IDCK-1001 Japan 2009
IDCK-1001 Ken Ishii Future In Light(10xFile, WAV, Album) 70Drums IDCK-1001 Japan 2002
none Ken Ishii Future In Light(CDr, Promo) Exceptional none UK 2003 Sell This Version



Add Review



August 8, 2004
edited over 13 years ago

While I admire Ken Ishii and love his work, FUTURE IN LIGHT didn't quite do it for me. For one, the spirit of experimentalism isn't as evident as in some of his other work. Instead, there's plenty of sonically dense, glitteringly bright tech-house ("Awakening," "Auburnia," or "Fadeless" are all good examples of this). A few tracks show more of Ishii's inventive spirit: "Beep Twist" is a packed full of complex and swirling sounds; "Strobe Enhanced" bleeps, bloops, and hits hard. But other tracks, such as "Melting Point," sound as if they could have been made by anyone. Perhaps the US-only track, "Creative State," best sums up the album as a whole: a very good techno album, but only an okay Ken Ishii album.