Kim Wilson ‎– Smokin' Joint

M.C. Records (2) ‎– MC-0043
CD, Album


1 Ain't Gonna Do It 4:02
2 Good Time Charlie 3:21
3 Oh Baby 7:34
4 Early In The Morning 8:358
5 Got To Let You Go 9:16
6 Learn To Treat Me Right 5:39
7 Smokin' Joint 5:17
8 I Stay In The Mood 4:01
9 Telephone Blues 5:03
10 High & Lonesome 4:22
11 I Can Tell 6:51
12 Tomorrow Night 6:29
13 The Lighthouse Is Gone 2:34

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (scanned): 607735004329



Add Review



February 12, 2017
Kim Wilson in Netherlands is probably best known as frontman of the popular blues formation Fabulous Thunderbirds. In addition, he played in his career along with greats such as Muddy Waters, John Lee Hooker, Charlie Musselwhite and Bonnie Raitt. He also made some nice solo albums, of which that's Life from 1994 was the best. The live album Smokin' Joint is the successor to My Blues from 1997. It contains thirteen pieces (including four original compositions) that were recorded on two evenings in 1999 and 2000. Wilson had a bunch of good musicians gathered around: Rusty Zinn (guitar), Kirk Fletcher (guitar), Mark Stevens (keyboards), Larry Taylor (bass) and Richard Innes (drums). But where the US is of course the fantastic harmonica game by Kim Wilson. He steals the show on this cd that although on the long side, with 74 minutes, but never bored. To sum up, Smokin' Joint just a fine album full of delicious, uncomplicated, fat sounding and swinging blues.