King Of Woolworths ‎– Ming Star

Mantra Recordings ‎– MNTCD1026
CD, Album, Digipak

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Kentish Town 5:33
2 Bakerloo (Main Titles) 6:19
3 Where Fleas Hide 1:58
4 Stalker Song 4:44
5 Colcannon 5:14
6 To The Devil A Donut 6:02
7 Kite Hill
Orchestrated By [Strings] – Peter Green
8 The Watchmaker's Hands 7:11
9 Theydon 6:49
10 Bakerloo (End Credits) 4:40

Companies, etc.



"bakerloo" contains a sample of "cut the dummy loose" by sean o'hagan, published by sony music publishing (uk).
Track 6, 'To The Devil A Donut', contains samples from the 1976 Hammer film 'To the Devil a Daughter' and Dave Richmond - Confunktion (not credited).

℗ 2001 Mantra Recordings. © 2001 Mantra Recordings.
The copyright in this sound recording is owned by Mantra Recordings.
Made in England.

all tracks written, produced and engineered by jon brooks on location at studio 404, west didsbury. copyright control.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 09008 10262 6
  • Label Code: LC05485
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): E3212 MNTCD 1026 02 1:0 Technicolor IFPI L122 iƒpi 2308
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI L122
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 2308
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): E3212 MNTCD 1026 02 1:1 Technicolor
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI L122
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): ifpi 2340

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
7243 8 11078 2 9 King Of Woolworths Ming Star(CD, Album) Labels 7243 8 11078 2 9 France 2001 Sell This Version
2306-2 King Of Woolworths Ming Star(CD, Album, Dig) Sum Records (2) 2306-2 Brazil 2003 Sell This Version
MNTCD1026 King Of Woolworths Ming Star(CD, Album, Dig) Mantra Recordings MNTCD1026 US 2001 Sell This Version
MNTLP1026, MNLP1026 King Of Woolworths Ming Star(LP, Album) Mantra Recordings, Mantra Recordings MNTLP1026, MNLP1026 UK 2001 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



May 6, 2013
The horror film samples on "To The Devil a Doughnut" are from 'To the Devil a Daughter' (1976) starring the legendary Christopher Lee fact fiends!


March 9, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

Moody and mysterious work from King of Woolworths on his debut album, MING STAR. Starting with the industrial city clatter of “Kentish Town,” the album ebbs and flows at its own pace. There’s definitely a filmic influence on here, from the eerie horror movie samples on “To the Devil a Doughnut,” to the wistfulness of “Kite Hill.” One of the best tracks here, “Stalker Song” is completely creepy, reminiscent of Scanner’s work. Listening to the police call feels gritty and voyeuristic, and the grinding acid line and thudding drums only heighten the emotion. MING STAR is like the soundtrack to a movie you haven’t seen, but want to based on the music alone.