King Tubby & Friends* ‎– Dub Like Dirt 1975-1977

Simply Vinyl ‎– SVLP 260, Blood & Fire ‎– SVLP 260
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Tubby Get Smart
A2 Guidance Dub
A3 Chapter Of Money
A4 Bag A Wire Dub
Written-By – Shaw*, Simpson*, Hookim*, Ferguson*
B1 Dub Ites Green & Gold
Written-By – W Rodney*
B2 Stealing Version
Written-By – John Holt
B3 Beat Them In Dub
B4 Thunder Rock
C1 How Long Dub
Written-By, Mixed By – Pat Kelly
C2 Dub Investigation
C3 Sly Want Dub
C4 Everybody Needs Dub
D1 Horn For I
D2 Six Million Dollar Version
D3 Dub Is My Occupation
D4 Fatter Dub

Companies, etc.



Includes insert sheet

This Compilation ℗1999 Blood and Fire Ltd. ©1999 Blood and Fire Ltd.

A1: The B-side to Leroy Smart's "Mr Smart" (Total Sound Ja 45, 1975). There are two more versions; a Phillip Smart one called "Exalted Dub" on Dub Gone Crazy - The Evolution Of Dub At King Tubby's 1975-1979 and a U Brown version "Live as One" on Train To Zion (1975-1978)
A2: The dub to Horace Andy's Guiding Star / Dub Star and was also used for deejay Tappa Zukies Jah Is My Guiding Star / Guiding Dub
A3: Horace Andy's Money Money / Bull Bay Jumping rhythm was also used for Jah Stitch's "Raggamuffin" (on Original Ragga Muffin (1975-77)) and Barry Brown's Politican. This dub was mixed for Barry Brown's vocal cut.
A4: A dub of Johnny Clarke's "Them Never Love Poor Marcus". It's also slighty longer cut than previously released versions and has more spring reverb than the Jamaican 45 B-side.
B1: A previously unreleased cut of Johnny Clarke's version of the Burning Spear classic. Mixed by King Tubby or Phillip Smart.
B2: A version of Johnny Clarke's Stealing that appeared on the Bar Bell label in Jamaica. The loop of this later used on Luciano's Ulterior Motive amongst others.
B3: The B-side to Cornell Campbell's "Jah Jah A Go Beat Them" (Jackpot 45, 1976).
B4: The B-side to Cornell Campbell's "Have Mercy Oh Jah" (Weed Beat 45, 1977).
C1: A dub mixed at King Tubby's in 1976 by Pat Kelly.
C2: The B-side to Cornell Campell's 1977 hit (The Investigator)
C3: The B-side to Johnny Clarke's "Wanti Wanti Can't Getti" (Weed Beat Ja 45, 1977).
C4: A dub mixed by Prince Jammy.
D1: A dub mixed by Prince Jammy.
D2: The B-side to Dennis Alcapone's "Six Million Dollar Man". The rhythm was also used for Leroy Smart's Shame & Pride and Johnny Clarke's cover of the original song. Two further versions can be found on Dub Gone 2 Crazy: In Fine Style 1975-1979.
D3: The B-side to Vin Gordon's Memories Of Don De (Jaguar 12" "Discomix", 1977).
D4: Taken from a 45 by Count Shelley in the UK, and a 45 by Jack Mittoo in Canada.

Westbury Music Ltd, except:
A4: EMI Virgin Music Ltd
B1: Copyright Control
C1: Woodwater Music Ltd

Liner notes:
Steve Barrow, February 1999
Joseph Cotton aka Jah Walton, Berlin, 4th Feb 1999

Digital restoration by Andy Walter @ Room 63, Abbey Road Studios

Labels are facsimile of those used on Bunny Lee's Justice (2) label

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 43346 02601 5
  • Rights Society: MCPS

Other Versions (5 of 6) View All


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



August 25, 2017
i am looking for the insert which was included with some copies of the 2xLP on Simply Vinyl. please PM me if you want to sell it, trade it etc ...


November 2, 2016
Absolutely a must have album. From the bunny striker lee label