Kings Of Convenience ‎– Versus

Astralwerks ‎– ASW 11235-2
CD, Compilation



A compilation of remakes, remixes and collaborations.

"All the remixes take their material from the 'Quiet is the New Loud' sessions. They were recorded at Parr Street Studios by Ken Nelson, except where otherwise stated. The remixers add their own noises, but we can't tell you where they got them from. All songs written by Eirik Glambek Bøe and Erlend Øye and published by BMG Music Publishing Ltd., except for 'Gold For The Price Of Silver', written by Tore Kroknes, Erlend Øye and Eirik Glambek Bøe. Published by BMG Music Publishing/ Copyright Control.

Furthermore, we find it very inspiring to be in big, empty office buildings at night. If you have access to one of these (maybe you're a nightwatch), do invite us if we play a show in your town.

Try this record in a car stereo."

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 724381123522

Other Versions (5 of 8) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CDSOUR040 Kings Of Convenience Versus(CD, Comp) Source CDSOUR040 UK & Europe 2001 Sell This Version
2547746436 Kings Of Convenience Versus(LP, Comp, Ltd, RE) Astralwerks 2547746436 US 2016 Sell This Version
SOURLP040 Kings Of Convenience Versus(LP, Comp) Source SOURLP040 UK 2001 Sell This Version
CDSOUR040 Kings Of Convenience Versus(CD, Comp) Source CDSOUR040 UK & Europe 2001 Sell This Version
CDSOURDJ040 Kings Of Convenience Versus(CD, Comp, Promo) Source CDSOURDJ040 UK 2001 Sell This Version



Add Review



August 2, 2004
edited over 14 years ago

The Kings of Convenience's QUIET IS THE NEW LOUD a worked over on VERSUS, with decidedly mixed resuilts. Royksopp gets the album off to a good start with their mid-tempo mix of "I Don't Know What I Can Save You From," while Four Tet does their abstract thing on "The Weight of My Words" (with both the vocal and the instrumental versions). "The Girl from Back Then" receives a lounge-y remix courtesy of Riton, but the standout on the album is their collaboration with Erot, "Gold for the Price of Silver," a downtempo track that glimmers with all the precious metals you can think of. Evil Tordivel transforms "Leaning Against the Wall" into a tropical Copacabana-band arrangement. A few of the remixers aren't able to really improve on the originals, so they simply add instruments, like the strings on "Toxic Girl" or the percussion and feedback guitar that drown out everything on Alfie's take on "Failure." That isn't true, however, of Ladytron's mix of "Little Kids," which opts for dark and shimmery new wave. Overall, VERSUS is great companion piece to the album.