Kobat ‎– Pieces For Prepared Piano

Source Records (2) ‎– CD 950220
CD, Album


1 Bindu 3:31
2 Ghafla 6:19
3 Naib 4:47
4 Akarso 2:45
5 Quanat 5:10
6 Varota 5:06
7 Semuta 5:53
8 Harq-Al-Ada 4:44
9 Ix 4:03
10 Uroshnor 4:08
11 Ilm 4:50
12 Burseg 4:45
13 Caladan 4:26

Companies, etc.



All tracks composed, performed and recorded on a prepared piano, 30.09. - 01.10.95
Recorded live, directly on to two track digital tape

Thanx for inspiration - Bill Laswell, Frank Herbert, John Coltrane, The Master Musicians of Jajouka, Brian Eno, Don Cherry, David Lynch and Igor Stravinsky

Special thanx - Bärbel, Benno, Charlotte, Christoph, David, Die Falschen Ministranten, Felix, Ghanima, Harald, Jonas, Kai, Klaus, Mäxe, Mephista, Nik, Nobby, Poost the Bloom and Ratzo

© 1995 Source Rec.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 718750 062024
  • Barcode (Scanned): 0718750062024
  • Matrix / Runout: BOD EFA 00620
  • Label Code: LC 5696
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L357
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 5204


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



March 24, 2013

The problem with prepared piano is that it sounds too much like broken piano, or maybe like oversized autoharp played with trash ... there's only so much potential, and part of the appeal depends on knowing that you're listening to a wacky piano. The novelty just wears off after the first few tracks, and the quality of the composition and the overall aesthetic becomes much more important.

It's not a bad album, and some of the compositions have an interesting quality to them, not entirely unlike some Gamelan and Indian music I've heard, but it's a bit too humorless and academic for my taste. Every song is a "study" or an "exploration" of something I'd have to get eight more years of university to begin to contemplate.

Nevertheless, this album of rhythmic, semi-minimal off-kilter themes has gone from my sell pile back into the shuffle-play rotation, so I guess that says the music's not entirely wasted on a dummy like me.


April 17, 2003

A totally new twist to the electro ambient label Source-Records. This record as I have gathered is played organically (no sequencer)on a beat up piano, and it sounds very intriguing, mystical in an oriental thrash harmonical vibe. If this concept was to be taken one step further it would hit ECM, no doubt!