Kraftwerk ‎– Exceller 8

Vertigo ‎– 6360 629, Vertigo ‎– 6360.629
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Textured Sleeve


A1 Ruckzack 7:30
A2 Autobahn 3:06
A3 Tongebirge 2:50
A4 Kristallo 6:18
B1 Kometenmelodie II 2:49
B2 Klingklang 9:20
B3 Vom Himmel Hoch 4:00
B4 Stratovarius 1:35

Companies, etc.



"Ruckzack", "Vom Himmel Hoch" & "Stratovarius" from the album "Kraftwerk".
"Klingklang" from the album "Kraftwerk 2".
"Tongbirge" & "Kristallo" from the album "Ralf und Florian".
"Autobahn" & "Comet Melody 2" from the album "Autobahn".

A1 is misspelt "Ruckzack" on back cover and label. The opening flute-echo intro of the original album track has been cut.
A2 is the heavily-edited version that was a UK top 20 hit in 1975.
B1 is credited as "Comet Melody 2" on the back cover and "Comet Melody 2 (Kometenmelodie II)" on the label. It is the version released as a single in 1975, that has the original middle section edited out.
B2 is an extended extract that starts 1:38 into the original track.
B3 is misspelt "Vom Himmell Hoch" on the label. It is the opening and closing sections of the original, linked with a cross fade.
B4 is a short extract of the final section of the original track.

This French release differs from the UK version by not having illustrations of other Kraftwerk albums on the back cover.

Tracks A1, A3, A4, B2 to B4 published by Intersong/Gema/MCPS
Tracks A2 & B1 published by Famous-Chappell Music Ltd./Gema

Cat# appears as:
6360.629 on back cover
6360 629 on labels

Made and Printed in France

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: SACEM / SDRM / SACD / SGDL
  • Matrix / Runout (Label, side A): 6360 629 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Label, side B): 6360 629 2
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A [stamped]): VER 6360629 1 380 CIDIS
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B [stamped]): VER 6360629 2 380 CIDIS
  • Price Code (On back cover): Ⓑ

Other Versions (5 of 14) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
6360 629 Kraftwerk Exceller 8(LP, Comp) Vertigo 6360 629 UK 1975 Sell This Version
6360.629 Kraftwerk Exceller 8(LP, Comp) Vertigo 6360.629 Israel 1976 Sell This Version
6360.629 Kraftwerk Exceller 8(LP, Comp) Vertigo 6360.629 Portugal 1975 Sell This Version
6360.629, 6360 629 Kraftwerk Exceller 8(LP, Comp) Vertigo, Vertigo 6360.629, 6360 629 Brazil 1976 Sell This Version
7149 007 Kraftwerk Exceller 8(Cass, Comp) Vertigo 7149 007 France 1976 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



September 21, 2014

excellent 1975 early compilation of their first 4 albums(kraftwerk..-.autobahn); for those who don't want to buy all their 4 early albums!
really intersting pioneer electronic music. mostly melodic. the beginning of noise electro ( von himmel hoch from their first album is very " noisy" ; i nearly hear bomb explosions)...
you have 3/4 tracks of their first album kraftwerk
minimal repetitive electronic music (still with a little flute sometimes, twice). most of the versions are short versions, which is not so bad. and i don't understand why this period is called pre electronic; for me it's their most electronic music; of course they still use some non electronic device but the sound is less melodic and formated and more " raw" than in their later releases (radioactivity etc...).
may be the more interesting part of their work before marketing and business took them down to more commercial stuff...


October 15, 2003

Before they were robots. A great sampling of the group's pre-electronic phase from 1971-1974. Also includes the very hard-to-find 7" version of 'Autobahn'. Recommended for those who wish to check out what the group was all about before the release of the Autobahn LP. The release was only on vinyl and has become quite rare since. If you find it, snap it up immediately!