Kryptogen Rundfunk ‎– Liquid Circuits

Zhelezobeton ‎– ZHB-LXV
CD, Album, Limited Edition, Numbered


1 Subaudition Coils 9:35
2 Iridescence 10:15
3 Pyramidoid 8:42
4 Vibroseis 10:11
5 Collapse of Neurotic Illusions 14:25
6 Informancer 6:19
7 We Forget 5:53



Sources: Degen DE1103, VEF 12, Rokton, Yamaha CS-5, Korg Monotron Duo, Korg Monotron Delay, electric guitar, record player, voice, flute, found sounds & samples.

Treatment: Behringer DSP2024P Virtualizer Pro, Yamaha EMP100, Boss ME-50, Jomox T-Resonator, Electro-Harmonix Micro Synth, Digitech DF-7 Distortion Factory, Behringer US600 Ultra Shifter / Harmonist, various software filters and processors.

Recorded in 2013-2015 @ Base Station, St. Petersburg.
Mastered in June 2016.

Limited edition of 333 hand-numbered copies in cardboard foldout sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: ZHB-LXV
  • Matrix / Runout (Mould): ООО "Маркон" Лицензия МПТР России ВАФ №77-103



Add Review



November 1, 2016

Original: Vital Weekly ( )

Zhelezobeton's label boss hides behind a musical project himself that is called Kryptogen
Rundfunk, and while I found it hard to believe, 'Liquid Circuits' is only his second solo release,
following '22.SZ', which was released in 2004 (see Vital Weekly 468). In the meantime he was
active with working with other people, and sharing split releases with them, such as Hladna,
Lunar Abyssm Neznamo, Umpio and Forgttn. I once saw one of his concerts and enjoyed his
take of the notion of 'experimental ambient noise', which is a route he explores also on this
new album. To that end he uses a bunch of bigger and smaller synthesizers, a guitar, record
player, flute and found sounds, which all goes into a bunch of effects (all listed on the cover).
Kryptogen Rundfunk plays seven pieces, all quite long and in some cases a bit too long. It's
not difficult to see what he is aiming at, which is some kind of psychedelic ambience noise,
but it very well happens that some of this is then a bit on the long side, I think. Which is a pity
since it has everything I tend to like these days; the brutal harshness of those small synthesizers,
abundant sound effects, but also the control over the sounds, and the way he holds down and
makes something way more subdued. I think he's best at that, doing that variation 'loud' versus
'soft' and the louder pieces should be trimmed down a bit; yes, loud can equal fun, but more so
for the creator than the listener, I sometimes wonder. So while 'Collapse Of Neurotic Illusions'
and 'Informancer' are not well spend on me, I very much enjoyed the other pieces, which made
up some forty strong minutes of music. (FdW)