Kubichek! ‎– Not Enough Night

30:30 Recordings ‎– TTRLP001
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Searchers 0:22
2 Roman Is Better 3:15
3 Taxi 2:49
4 Nightjoy 3:26
5 Hope Is Impossible
Recorded By [Drums] – Justin Lockey
6 Stutter 3:21
7 Method Acting
Recorded By [Drums] – Justin Lockey
8 Outwards 3:10
9 Opening Shot
Engineer – Paul Yates (5)Producer [Additional Production Assistant], Mixed By [Additional Mixing Assistant] – Mark AllawayProducer [Additional Production], Mixed By [Additional Mixing] – Dave Eringa
10 Hometown Strategies 3:30
11 Start As We Meant To 4:59
12 Just Shut It Down
Engineer – Dave CurleProducer [Additional Production Assistant], Mixed By [Additional Mixing Assistant] – Mark AllawayProducer [Additional Production], Mixed By [Additional Mixing] – Dave Eringa


  • Producer [Assistant], Mixed By [Assistant]Mark Allaway (tracks: 1 to 8, 10, 11)
  • Producer, Mixed ByDave Eringa (tracks: 1 to 8, 10, 11)


Produced and mixed at Miloco Studios, Hoxton.
Except tracks 5 and 7 - Produced and mixed at Miloco Studios, Hoxton. Drums recorded at Like A Cat, Like A Fox™.
Track 9 - Engineered at NEMUSIC, Bede. Additional production at First Avenue, Heaton and additional production and mixing at Miloco Studios, Hoxton.
Track 12 - Engineered at First Avenue studios, Heaton. Additional production and mixing at Miloco Studios, Hoxton.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 5060141490066

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none Kubichek! Not Enough Night(CDr, Album, Promo) 30:30 Recordings none UK Unknown Sell This Version
none, FABC-040 Kubichek! Not Enough Night(CD, Album) 30:30 Recordings, Fabtone Records none, FABC-040 Japan 2007 Sell This Version



Add Review



May 9, 2015
In a fusty musical climate in which – with the exception of the garrulous control freak that is Mr Waits – every artist who rips off their idols receives unequivocal support from said forefathers (read, Noel Gallagher: Kasabian, Jet, The Twang, Brian May: Mika, Elton John: Sister Sisters etc.), creativity no longer needs to be strived for. Indeed who would find the will to bother when Elton et al are busy feting their young protégées with bunches of freshly snipped gladioli and novelty toothbrushes.

Whilst the comparison is not as clean-cut as the aforementioned, it's still somewhat of a mystery as to why Kubichek! have not been frogmarched from their native Newcastle to Springsteen's Hudson-side penthouse such is the band's Boss-like stomp and yearning for that rush of new. It must be frustrating for the group then, that almost two years have passed since Fantastic Plastic released the foursomes' debut single, 'Nightjoy', while fellow 2005 Levi's Ones To Watch tourmates Editors went on to superstardom on the back of a lowly bunch of Interpol-aping missives.

Instead of collapsing under the weight of expectation Kubichek! have used their run of false starts and near-misses as the fuel for 'Not Enough Night' – an album that wears its stadium-aiming intentions firmly on it's scuffed sleeves. Those expecting philosophical treatises on the state of the nation or 'Kid-A' shaped wordplays of grandiose erudition best avert their ears now, for Kubichek!'s songs are resolutely simple. Simple, but powerful. 'Method Acting' is perhaps the strongest example. Shooting beyond the made-for-disco bounce of 'Nightjoy' and second single 'Taxi', the tune's duelling guitars build and build before a wave of Fugazi-like white noise commandeers the latter half of the track - singer Al McDonald's febrile bellow delivered with a gusto equal parts sandpaper and gin.

Elsewhere, 'Roman Is Better' is a caterwauling call to arms driven by a steaming rhythm section and a melodic chug akin to that of '100 Broken Windows'-era Idlewild - perhaps not surprising as it's Dave Eringa who the band have sat at the controls. 'Hometown Strategies' meanwhile, along with album closer, 'Just Shut It Down', resonate with the fervent buzz of a bunch of twentysomethings who've discovered that matters of the heart, when explored in sonic form, needn't be all minor chords and introspective wailing. But, it's the epic 'Hope Is Impossible' that stands as 'Not Enough Night's centrepiece. Intensely satisfying from the off, the song's abstract refrain slowly twists into an eerie wall of sound that gets demolished by a deluge of crashing drums just as soon as it's been painstakingly constructed. At once glorious and sinister, it's music for spread-eagled souls for whom every morning follows an intense last night made by a band capable of surmising that feeling of youthful trepidation and elation better than any other.