Laibach ‎– Volk

Mute ‎– CDSTUMM276, Mute ‎– 0094637451120
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Germania
Written-By [Originally Written By] – August Heinrich Hoffmann von Fallersleben*, Joseph Haydn
2 America
Vocals – Yolanda Grant-ThompsonWritten-By [Originally Written By] – Francis Scott Key, John Stafford Smith
3 Anglia
Written-By [Originally Written By] – Traditional
4 Rossiya
Arranged By [Children's Choir], Conductor [Children's Choir] – Vitalij OsmačkoCello [Additional] – Anne CarruthersChoir [Children's Choir] – Anna Vidovich, Dasha Khotuleva, Janja Cerar, Nastja YatskoWritten-By [Originally Written By] – Alexander Alexandrov*, Gabriel El-Registan*, Sergey Mikhalkov*
5 Francia
Vocals – Mina ŠpilerWritten-By [Originally Written By] – Claude Joseph Rouget De Lisle*
6 Italia
Written-By [Originally Written By] – Goffredo Mameli, Michele NovaroZither – Miha Dovžan
7 España
Acoustic Guitar – Peter DeklevaVocals – Maria Awa, Mina ŠpilerWritten-By [Original Text Variations Written By] – Eduardo Marquina, José María PemánWritten-By [Originally Written By] – Evaristo San Miguel Valledor, Francisco Guerta
8 Yisrā'el
Vocals – Artie FishelWritten-By [Originally Written By] – Naphtali Herz Imber*, Paul Ben-Haim, Ahmad Salim Flayfel*, Ibrahim Hefeth Touqan*, Mohammad Salim Flayfel*
9 Türkiye
Vocals – Elvira Hasanagić, Zed MehmetWritten-By [Originally Written By] – Ali Rifat Çagatay, Mehmet Akif Ersoy, Osman Zeki Üngör
10 Zhōnghuá
Vocals – Seaming ToWritten-By [Originally Written By] – Niè Er*, Tián Hàn
11 Nippon
Cello [Additional] – Anne CarruthersVocals – Nagisa MoritokiWritten-By [Original Lyrics Written By] – AnonymousWritten-By [Original Melody Written By] – Akimori Hayashi, Franz von Eckert, Hiromori Hayashi, Yoshiisa Oku
12 Slovania
Vocals – Brina Vogelnik SajeWritten-By [Original Lyrics Written By] – Samuel TomášikWritten-By [Original Melody Probably Written By] – Michael Kleofas Oginski*
13 Vaticanae
Vocals – Yolanda Grant-Thompson
14 NSK
Conductor [Brass Orchestra] – Professor Alojz Zupan*Orchestra [Brass Orchestra] – Delavska Godba Trbovlje

Companies, etc.



(P) & (C) 2006 Mute Records Limited
Printed in the EU

Regular jewel case edition, contains all the lyrics.
Made in the EU.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 094637 451120
  • Barcode (String): 0094637451120
  • Label Code: LC5834
  • Rights Society: bel BIEM
  • Matrix / Runout: 3753722 AC68373-01 manufactured by optimal media GmbH
  • Mastering SID Code: ifpi L573 (x2)
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 9702

Other Versions (5 of 12) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
LCDSTUMM276, 0094637451229 Laibach Volk(CD, Album, Unofficial) Mute (2), Mute (2) LCDSTUMM276, 0094637451229 Russia 2006 Sell This Version
MUT 9337 Laibach Volk(CDr, Album, Promo) Mute MUT 9337 US 2006 Sell This Version
ACDSTUMM276 Laibach Volk(CD, Album, Promo) Mute ACDSTUMM276 UK 2006 Sell This Version
CDSTUMM276 I, 0094637451120 Laibach Volk(CD, Album, Unofficial) Mute (2), Mute (2) CDSTUMM276 I, 0094637451120 Russia 2006 Sell This Version
CDSTUMM276, 0094637451120 Laibach Volk(CD, Album) Mute, Mute CDSTUMM276, 0094637451120 Europe 2006 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



April 3, 2017
This album is work of art, both in conception and execution. Every track is delicious, and masterfully presented. (And personally, "Francia" remains one of my top Laibach tracks of all time.) A blinding shame this does not exist on vinyl because the sound would be huge.


November 26, 2015
I would pay a finger of your choice to obtain a vinyl copy of this album.


March 27, 2014

Like ' Nato ' published in 1994 , which was based on the theme of the times of war, Laibach provides us with ' Volk ' an album composed entirely of re- interpretations of no less than 14 national anthems. A very strong theme , very politicized and confusing at first listen , the new Laibach savored endless once apprehended. In fact, if you hope to find here the power of ' WAT ' or crossover of 'Jesus Christ Superstar' , you might be surprised . Securities are of the form more pop -song to calm rhythmic or mid tempo on which is grafted a roaring cold electro and melodic music . Decorated with various arrangements : mandolin on 'Italia ', children's choir for ' Rossiya ' , castanets on the resulting ' España ', or piano or strings ( the punchy ' Türkiye ' or very soft and melancholy ' Nippon ), these reinterpretations are very rich and worked and often quite unrecognizable from the original (which is often the case with Laibach who not only simple but repeatedly re- interpretations and re- appropriation of original titles). Milan Fras singing when his remains the same : cold, monotonous , hypnotic and disturbing. Attended the voice of Boris Benko and the electro duo Silence composition and different singers (including Mila Spiler Melodrom the group toured with the band later) , many outsiders involved blithely diversity and customizing titles . Of ' Francia ' compound in the suburban riots of 2005, to ' Yisra'el ' r ? Uniting so very central pieces of the same Israeli and Palestinian hymns , or a ' Vaticanae ' filled with religious lyricism, or ' Anglia ' s an unstoppable efficiency, Laibach took the opportunity to send a personal message to every people concerned. We also note that the album ends with the anthem of NSK, the imaginary country invented by the group.