Lamb ‎– Lamb

Fontana ‎– 532 968-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Lusty 4:09
2 God Bless 5:54
3 Cotton Wool 5:07
4 Trans Fatty Acid 7:37
5 Zero 5:31
6 Merge 5:44
7 Gold 5:40
8 Closer 3:51
9 Górecki 6:30
10.1 Feela 6:44
10.2 (silence) 2:00
10.3 Cotton Wool (Fila Brazillia Mix)
Remix [Uncredited] – Fila Brazillia

Companies, etc.



Track 10.3 is unlisted, it begins at 8:45 seconds of the last track, after 2 minutes of silence. The total duration of track 10 is 17:12.

℗1996 Mercury Records Ltd (London)
©1996 Mercury Records Ltd (London)
The copyright in this sound recording is owned by Mercury Records Ltd (London)

Published by Warner Chappell Music
Tracks 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10 mixed at Ridge Farm, Surrey.
Tracks 2, 3, 6 mixed at The Pierce Room, London. Track 7 mixed at The Toyshop, Manchester.
All tracks written, engineered & recorded at The Toyshop & Lou's basement, Manchester. Additional recording at Ridge Farm. Mastered at Metropolis, London.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 7 31453 29682 4
  • Barcode (Scanned): 731453296824
  • Label Code: LC 0211
  • Rights Society: BIEM MCPS
  • Distribution Code: PY900
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 2, 3 & 5): IFPI L002
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 532 968-2 01 +
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): 532 968-2 02 + MADE IN GERMANY BY PMDC
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3 & 5): 532 968-2 01 + MADE IN GERMANY BY PMDC C
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0107
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 01AB
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0103
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 01H2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): IFPI 0104

Other Versions (5 of 18) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
wooldj1 Lamb Lamb(CD, Album, Promo) Fontana wooldj1 UK 1996 Sell This Version
none Lamb Lamb(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Moon Records (2) none Ukraine 1999 Sell This Version
532 968-2 Lamb Lamb(CD, Album, RP) Fontana 532 968-2 UK & Europe Unknown Sell This Version
532 968-2 Lamb Lamb(CD, Album) Fontana, Mercury 532 968-2 Australia 1996 Sell This Version
532 968-2 Lamb Lamb(CD, Album) Fontana 532 968-2 Canada 1996 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



October 4, 2009
Lou Rhodes has an appropriately husky voice for this drum & bass / trip-hop "song" crossover group. In theory Andy Barlow's production, which on this album at least, took rather generic drum & bass rhythms and mashed them up as you'd expect, should make this duo the ideal starting point for those of us that aren't really into either of those genres because they're normally so focussed on beats.

Sorry, doesn't quite work. Gorecki does have a somewhat dark, enticing lead vocal melody but with the overused trip-hop rhythm here it comes off far less inspired than the Global Communication remix.

And I really can't pick any further moments that aren't disappointing. Lou sometimes pushes her croaking a little too far on God Bless, and the cliches apparent in their lyrics (Cotton Wool!) makes for a lesser and lesser experience. Zero ditches the drums for some soft violin and string plucking, giving it the impression of an introspective ballad. Its only "hook" seems to be Lou croaking "everythiiiiing" at times, marring the otherwise pleasant vibe.

Perhaps they went on to better things, as of yet I've not heard newer Lamb albums. But one of the biggest peeves I have is that Lou's voice tends to be rather solitary. Few harmonies, and when there are some they're indistinct and don't really bring the vocals to the heights I'd hope for. Closer seems utterly hookless in that regard. And was there any point in having a bonus remix of Cotton Wool?

It's not bad, I think I'd rather sit through this than any selected Roni Size album (that "dancefloor-orientation" problem again). But it aint anything special! Drum & bass nuts will probably disagree but I'm not one outside of Photek!


October 10, 2004
edited over 13 years ago

Back when trip-hop was stagnating, Lamb came in and wiped the slate clean. WIth Louise Rhodes' bright Brogue vocals and Andy Barlow's keen sense of rhythm, their self-titled debut album was a breath of fresh air. From the string-laden drum 'n' bass of "God Bless" or the chaotic drum patterns and pseudo-Western guitar twangs of "Cotton Wool," the majority of the tracks shine with innovation. "Trans Fatty Acid" is a more sinister journey -- a dark love song; "Zero" is a more traditional love song. "Gold" is a little too reminiscent of the superior "Lusty," but the gorgeous and emotionally-charged "Gorecki" more than make up for any weaknesses. The hidden mix of "Cotton Wool" by Fila Brazillia is the gravy on this delicious cut of Lamb.


May 19, 2003

Fits comfortably with company like Massive Attack, Portishead and Shantel. I little edgier than most trip-hop, mostly due to the DnB flourishes, but more interesting because of it. Cotton wool and trans fatty acid are stand outs.


January 30, 2003

Certainly a noteworthy release however the “less is more” approach could have been used a little more liberally, in some of the tracks no vocals would have made it a lot less cluttered.