Lamb ‎– What Sound

Mercury ‎– 586 434-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 What Sound
Arranged By [Strings - Original Arrangement] – Guy SigsworthArranged By [Strings], Conductor [Strings] – Wil MaloneContractor [String Session Fixer] – Gavin Wright*Engineer [Strings - Assistant] – Chris BolsterEngineer [Strings Session Engineer] – Adam BrownGuitar – Jimi GoodwinStrings – The London Session Orchestra
2 One
Guitar – Arto Lindsay
3 Sweet
Bass – Me'Shell NdegéOcelloDrums – Mikey WilsonEngineer [Recording] – Erik DybaGuitar – Jimi Goodwin
4 I Cry
Acoustic Guitar – Oddur RunarssonBass [Bass Line] – Guy SigsworthElectric Guitar – Arto LindsayVocals [Additional] – Michael Franti
5 Scratch Bass
Scratches – Tony Vegas
6 Heaven
Bass [Bass Line] – Guy SigsworthGuitar – Jimi Goodwin
7 Small
Engineer – Albert PinheiroHuman Beatbox – Jan LinnikVoice – Amy Biggins, Benjamin McKone, Imani Robinson, James McKone, Josephine Taylor, Safiya Robinson, Sam Biggins, Tabitha Taylor, Wesley Etienne
8 Gabriel
Arranged By [Strings] – Andrew Barlow, Wil MaloneConductor [Strings] – Wil MaloneContractor [String Session Fixer] – Gavin Wright*Engineer [Strings - Assistant] – Chris BolsterEngineer [Strings Session Engineer] – Adam BrownStrings – The London Session Orchestra
9 Sweetheart
Recorded By – Andrew Barlow
10.1 Just Is
Keyboards [Additional] – Ned Scott
10.2 Blessing In Disguise 1:43

Companies, etc.



Track 10.2 is unlisted, it starts at 13:11, preceded by 9 minutes of silence. The total length of track 10 is 14:54.

Mastered at Masterdisk, New York City.

℗&© 2001 Mercury Records (London) Ltd.
The copyright in this sound recording is owned by Mercury Records (London) Ltd., a Universal Music company.
Made in the EU.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 7 31458 64342 5
  • Label Code: LC 00268
  • Rights Society: BIEM MCPS
  • Matrix / Runout: 07314 586 434-2 01 + 51213788 MADE IN GERMANY BY UNIVERSAL M & L
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): A
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L002
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0156
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0139
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0145

Other Versions (5 of 33) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none Lamb What Sound(CDr, Album, Promo) Mercury none Europe 2001 Sell This Version
3145864342 Lamb What Sound(CD, Album) Mercury 3145864342 Canada 2001 Sell This Version
none Lamb What Sound (International Version)(CDr, Album, Promo) Mercury none Europe 2001 Sell This Version
586 434-2 Lamb What Sound(CD, Album, Unofficial) Mercury (2) 586 434-2 Russia 2001 Sell This Version
73145864342 Lamb What Sound(CD, Album) Mercury 73145864342 Brazil 2001 Sell This Version



Add Review



January 16, 2017
The British duo Lamb consists of singer and producer Andy Barlow and Louise Rhodes was founded in 1994 in Manchester. As the first combined Lamb vocals with jungle and drum 'n' bass rhythms, like for example Kosheen. The first album and the singles Cotton Wool and Lamb Gorecki were innovative and very successful, despite the fact that the songs by the atmospheric arrangement and on accelerating drum machine were not always accessible. On Fear Of Fours (1999) put Lamb this concept, although with slightly less commercial impact. The more success there was on stage, where Lamb to see regularly. With a pause of three years appears the album What Sound that a number of hit environment numbers (What Sound, Sweet and Gabriel). Which in addition to notice is that the time of intense break beats and a-rhythmic drum computers is over. Instead you hear beautiful Sung and atmospheric songs in quiet, downtempo drum 'n' bass rhythms are packed. The music of Lamb is somewhat shifted from the dance floor to the living room in a genre that anno 2001 does not (more) so striking. That makes What Sound to a nice but not really remarkable album.