Laurie Anderson ‎– Home Of The Brave

Warner Bros. Records ‎– 9 25400-1, Warner Bros. Records ‎– 1-25400
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Smoke Rings
Keyboards – Rob SabinoProducer [Basic Track] – Nile Rodgers
A2 White Lily 1:16
A3 Late Show
Voice [Vocal Sample] – William S. Burroughs
A4 Talk Normal
Clarinet – Richard LandrySynthesizer [Moog, Prophet, DX-7], Vocals – Joy Askew
B1 Language Is A Virus
Backing Vocals – Brenda White-King*, Curtis King, Diane Garisto, Frank Simms, Tawatha Agee*Engineer [Second] – Knut Bohn*Producer, Keyboards, Synthesizer [Synclavier] – Nile RodgersProduction Manager – Budd Tunick, Kevin Jones (3)Programmed By [Synclavier] – Kevin Jones (3)Recorded By, Mixed By – James FarberSaxophone – Robert Arron*Voice [Crowd] – Knut Bohn*, Laurie Anderson, Nile Rodgers, Tom Durack
B2 Radar 2:01
B3 Sharkey's Night
Drums – David Van TieghemPercussion – Daniel Ponce, Isidro Bobadillo*
B4 Credit Racket
Bass [Bass Animals] – Bill Laswell

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Park Theater, Union City, New Jersey, Blue Rock Studio, Skyline Studio
Post-production Audio at Sync Sound
Record remixed at Soundworks

© ℗ 1986 Warner Bros. Records Inc.
© 1986 Talk Normal Productions
All songs © Difficult Music (BMI)

Catalog # 9 25400-1 appears on the sleeve, catalog # 1-25400 appears on the labels

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 7599-25400-1
  • Barcode (Scan): 075992540018
  • Matrix / Runout (A-Side Runout Etching): SRC 1-25400-A-SR1 1-1 MASTERDISK RL
  • Matrix / Runout (B-Side Runout Etching): SRC 1-25400-B-SR1 1-1 MASTERDISK RL
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (5 of 31) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
925 400-1 Laurie Anderson Home Of The Brave(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records 925 400-1 Europe 1986 Sell This Version
7599-25400-2 Laurie Anderson Home Of The Brave(CD, Album) Warner Bros. Records 7599-25400-2 Europe 1986 Sell This Version
6709031 Laurie Anderson Home Of The Brave(LP, Album, RE) Warner Bros. Records 6709031 Brazil 1989 Sell This Version
9 25400-4 Laurie Anderson Home Of The Brave(Cass, Album, Dol) Warner Bros. Records 9 25400-4 US 1986 Sell This Version
9 25400-2 Laurie Anderson Home Of The Brave(CD, Album) Warner Bros. Records 9 25400-2 Europe 1986 Sell This Version



Add Review



November 29, 2017
While the majority of music forming part to the superb film version of "Home Of the Brave" is a promotional live rendition of "Mr. Heartbreak", it is utterly criminal the standard album version doesn't follow by keeping the entire lot (similar case was with Talking Heads' "Stop Making Sense", a commercial live album initially cut out a sizable part of an otherwise amazing performance filmed by Jonathan Demme - the injustice was finally undone with the late 90's special edition release, adding loads of extra performances staying more loyal to the film's contents).

While "Home of the brave" the album carries some of the exclusive studio mixes in its own right - "White Lily", "Talk Normal" and "Language Is a Virus" respectively, only a tiny bit ("Radar" and "Smoke Rings") is carried over from the original film. But knowing the latter for all the audio-visual joy it brings, the commercial soundtrack version sounds unforgivably decapitated. Those in possession of a laserdisc have no idea how happy they are.

For years, there were rumours which then turned into official announcements of a commercial DVD re-release gathering Anderson's video work ("Home Of the Brave" included) but to date no such thing was delivered.