Le Forte Four / Doo-Dooettes ‎– L.A. Free Music Society Live At The Brand

Los Angeles Free Music Society ‎– LAFMS#03/4
2 × Vinyl, LP

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Le Forte Four Birth Of Largie Schrapnel
A2 Le Forte Four The Very First Song I Ever Wrote
A3 Le Forte Four M-M-M
A4 Le Forte Four Keep That Point Up
A5 Le Forte Four 4,000 Holes In Blackburn, Lancashire
A6 Le Forte Four Telethon Returns
A7 Le Forte Four From The 12 Pages
A8 Le Forte Four Tree Shredding Blues
Bass – Steve Jackson (4)
A9 Le Forte Four Do The Crow
A10 Le Forte Four Balanced Comfort
A11 Le Forte Four Telethon Returns
A12 Le Forte Four Internal C.B. Breakage
A13 Le Forte Four Good Friday Tape Dumb Session #1
B1 Le Forte Four Reel World
B2 Le Forte Four Columbia-Princeton Low Priority Soybean Meal
B3 Le Forte Four Telethon Returns
B4 Le Forte Four Down The Congo In A Backward Canoe
B5 Le Forte Four Telethon Returns Continues
B6 Le Forte Four Welcome To 35 South Raymond
Bass – Steve Jackson (4)Guitar [Wearing] – Juan GomezOrgan – Ken (11)Violin – Tom Recchion
B7 Le Forte Four Darker Scratcher
Performer [Electric Music Box] – Bob Frazier (2)
B8 Le Forte Four Diaramma I
B9 Le Forte Four Diaramma II
B10 Le Forte Four HHHMMM
B11 Le Forte Four Telethon Returns
B12 Le Forte Four Good Friday Tape Dumb Session II
B13 Le Forte Four Shoe Spot
B14 Le Forte Four Meet The Detectives
B15 Le Forte Four Simple Circus
C1 Doo-Dooettes Mojave
Organ [Electric] – Dennis MehaffeySynthesizer – Harold Schroeder
C2 Doo-Dooettes Silver Hours
Guitar, Flute – Juan GomezPercussion, Electric Piano, Harmonium – Thomas Recchion*
C3 Doo-Dooettes Twenty-Four (24)
Bass [Electric Bass Guitar], Tape – Fredrik NilsenPercussion, Guitar [Electric] – Thomas Recchion*
C4 Doo-Dooettes Children Undressing Animals (Part One)
Bass [Electric Bass Guitar], Tape – Fredrik NilsenGuitar [Electric], Percussion, Electric Piano – Juan GomezPercussion, Cornet, Voice – Dennis MehaffeyPercussion, Guitar [Electric], Piano [Grand] – Thomas Recchion*Saxophone – Ace*
D1 Doo-Dooettes Children Undressing Animals (Part Two)
D2 Fredrik Nilsen Green
Composed By, Performer – Fredrik Nilsen


  • Drums [Cyanide], Performer [Fire Cracker, Ground Bloom Flower, Melody Mikes, Hummers, Keymonica, Vocal Tube, Something, Reeded Hummer, Headphones, Jet Airplane, Billiard Table, Carol Lawrence], Vocals, Whistle [Slide], Piano [Acoustically Altered Finger], Tapes, Synthesizer [Steiner-parker], Voice [Vocal Tube Breathing]Tom Potts (tracks: A1, A6, A7, A10, A11, B1, B3 to B6, B8, B9, B11 to B14)
  • Performer [Spring Reverb Shorts, Hummers, Bats, Electric Music Box, Viala-sound Boppers, Downstairs Refrigerator, Window Sash, Telephone], Vocals, Xylophone, Tape, Whistle [Slide], Guitar [Budget Rent-a-guitar], Clarinet, Tabla, Voice [Aside Comment, More Introductions]Chip Chapman (tracks: A1, A4, A6, A7, A9, A10, A12, B2, B3, B5 to B8, B11, B13 to B15)
  • Performer [Switch, Obone, Book On Head, Marks-a-lot On Paper Towel, Crutch, Table, Shoecaster, Nurges, Sandpaper, Pencil], Violin, Vocals [Cassette], Guitar [Gift], Voice [Impersonations, Dialect From Hamburger Land, Introductions, Oil Can Directives], Zither [Whipped], Synthesizer [Steiner-parker], Drums [Cyanide], Accordion, HarpJoe Potts (tracks: A5, A7, A9, A13, B5, B6, B12 to B14)
  • Recorded By, Mixed ByJan Paulshus (tracks: C1 to C4, D1 to D2)
  • Tape, Performer [Tv, Thunder Sheet With King Kong Mallet, Congolies, Toybox, Applause, Slide Bamboozler, Alfredo Slax, Oil Can, Coffee, Luxo-lamp Springs, Film Cartridge Cranker, Squeakless Plastic Hamburger, Burnt-out Lightbulb In A Paper Sack, Table, Vocal Tube, Keymonica, Pachinko Ball In A Pot, Hummer, Double Hummer, Headphones, Madge], Effects [Doctored], Piano, Turntable [Record Manipulations], Tabla [Popcorn-can], Percussion [Hand, Largie Schrapnel Percussion Machine], Vocals, Xylophone, Trumpet [Record Player], Saw [Musical], Harp, Guitar, Voice [Dialogue, Laughs, Background Talking, Mr. Announcer, Introductions, Throaty Belch]Rick Potts (tracks: A1 to A3, A6 to A11, A13, B1, B3, B5, B6, B8 to B14)


On July 8th, 1976, the Doo-Dooettes and Le Forte Four as representatives of the L.A. Free Music Society gave a performance at the Brand Art Center in Glendale, California. For their portion of the event, Le Forte Four tried to play back prerecorded tapes through 44 pyramid shaped headphones. Both the tapes and the headphones were specifically designed for the concert. The Doo-Dooettes played live.

L-44 wishes to thank: Steve Jackson, John Payne, Sean Phillips and Bob Wallace. L.A.F.M.S. wishes to thank: Cunningham Press, (mastering by) Mister Ed, Marilyn at the Brand, Jan Paulshus, the Bikini Fan Club, Ettes-cetera. Doo-Dooettes give special thanks to Ace for saxaphone [sic] on "Children", Smegma for spiritual and financial support, to Jan Paulshus for the recording and mixing and to Thomas Foon MacFarlane for help on "Mojave".