Leftfield ‎– Leftism

Hard Hands ‎– HANDCD2, Columbia ‎– 01-478142-10
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Release The Pressure
Vocals – Earl SixteenVocals [Ad-libs] – Papa DeeWritten-By – E. Daley*
2 Afro-Left
Berimbau – Kevin HaynesVocals – Djum DjumWritten-By – Cole*
3 Melt 5:15
4 Song Of Life
Written-By – Rupkina*
5 Original
Vocals – Toni HallidayWritten-By – Halliday*
6 Black Flute 3:45
7 Space Shanty 7:14
8 Inspection (Check One)
Vocals – Danny RedWritten-By – Clarke*
9 Storm 3000 5:44
10 Open Up
Vocals – John LydonWritten-By – Lydon*
11a 21st Century Poem
Engineer – Simon DuffyVocals – Lemn Sissay
11b Untitled 0:38

Companies, etc.



Comes in a transparent tray jewel case with a 8-panel fold-out booklet.

Recorded at Rollover Studios, London W10.
Mastered at Porky's.

Hidden track after track 11 starts at around 5:08. Total track 11 duration is 5:46.

All titles ℗ 1995 Hard Hands except,
Track 10 ℗ 1993 Hard Hands,
©1995 Sony Music Entertainment (UK) Ltd.
Columbia is the exclusive trademark of Sony Music Entertainment Inc.

All titles: Hard (UK) Hands Publishing Ltd.
#2, #8: Lamps On Your Ears Music/BMG Music Publishing Ltd.
#4: Rykomusic
#5: Anxious Music Ltd./Polygram Music Publishing Ltd.
10: Warner Chappell Music Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 099747 814228
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): S4247814210-0101 54 A4
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): S0147814210-0101 14 A12
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): 01-478142-10 15 B1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 4): S0147814210-0101 24 C00 6
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 5 & 14): S0147814210-0101 71 A5
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 6): S0147814210-0101 95 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 7): S0147814210-0101 24 B1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 8): S0147814210-0101 24 A7
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 9): 01-478142-10 15 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 10): S0147814210-0101 43 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 11): S0147814210-0101 24 B8
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 12): S0147814210-0101 14 A5
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 13): S0147814210-0101 14 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 15): S0147814210-0101 14 A14
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 16): S0147814210-0101 14 A7
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13): IFPI L554
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 3): none
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 5 & 14): IFPI L551
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 6): IFPI L555
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 10): IFPI L553
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 15 & 16): IFPI L554
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 945P
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 94Y3
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): none
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 1G35
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): IFPI 947A
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 6): IFPI 942T
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 7): IFPI 945N
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 8): IFPI 947S
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 9): none
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 10): IFPI 944N
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 11): IFPI 947T
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 12): IFPI 94G2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 13): IFPI 943A
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 14): IFPI 9448
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 15): IFPI 945P
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 16): Inone
  • Other (Matrix Text Variant 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13): Sony Music
  • Rights Society: MCPS / BIEM / SDRM
  • Other (Distribution Code): CB 791
  • Label Code: LC 0162
  • Other: CX
  • Other: 58
  • Other: CDC

Other Versions (5 of 46) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none Leftfield Leftism (Bonus CD)(CDr, Comp, Promo) Hard Hands none UK & Europe 2000 Sell This Version
HANDMC2, 01-478142-30 Leftfield Leftism(Cass, Album) Hard Hands, Columbia HANDMC2, 01-478142-30 Netherlands 1995 Sell This Version
CT 67231 Leftfield Leftism(Cass, Album, Promo) Columbia CT 67231 US 1995 Sell This Version
MTL-028 Leftfield Leftism(CD, Album, Unofficial) Not On Label (Leftfield) MTL-028 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
CK 67231 Leftfield Leftism(CD, Album) Columbia, Hard Hands CK 67231 US 1995 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 11 Reviews

Add Review



August 9, 2015
edited about 1 year ago

Blown away by this CD. I own a few singles on 12 inch, and have of course heard of Leftfield. I picked up this CD today at a second hand market for a great price and put it onside outside with a few mates. Each track amazed me. Really asked myself when last I could listen to a complete album and enjoy EVERY track. Fantastic sound.



April 28, 2013

Leftism is obviously one of the best-known long players to have come from the club scene, selling over a million copies in the UK alone and still regularly propping up the Dance rack of any high store music chain. But while it is undoubtedly a good album in its own right, I personally found Leftfield by 1995 guilty of making their sound more "NME friendly" after they'd been picked up by the UK guitar press, and Leftism is basically an attempt to make a rock album out of electronic music, with lots of vocals and radio-friendly arrangements. The real genius of Leftfield was the hard percussive alchemy of their early work on Outer Rhythm and Guerilla, tracks that completely blew apart the paradigm of British house music, hence "progressive house". There are some great tracks here (my personal favourite being Space Shanty) and the album has a suitably cohesive mood, but I challenge anyone to listen to Leftfield's 1994 Essential Mix, one of the greatest DJ sets ever recorded, and then tell me that Leftism doesn't sound decidedly tame by comparison.


October 28, 2011
edited over 3 years ago
This album is a true celebration of what it is to be alive and human in the late 20th century.


October 19, 2010
there's nothing mindblowing about this album. it's influential, but that's where it ends. leftfield's better when they're remixing.


May 12, 2004

The first I heard of these guys was Open Up on a good compilation called Chemical Reaction, and I knew I'd love the rest of their music. I've often heard from people that they think Rhythm And Stealth is better, but they are WRONG. There is a nice variety throughout, with different male and female vocal tracks as well as sick instrumentals. Song of Life is one of my top 10 tunes, but Inspection and Original are up there, and if Space Shanty & Afro-Left don't make you want to get up and move, check your pulse.


July 11, 2003

Possibly a life changing experience when I heard this album....yes it is that good. Confirmed that house, specifically progressive, was here to stay. Although 'Song of life' is the stand out track, '21st century poem' is a haunting track that completely moves outside of house territory and showed the level talent of Barnes and Daley. Sad that they split, but this is a testament to their fine work.


May 12, 2003

1 my of top 10 too - this album covers a menagerie of styles yet comes together to form a sound that is distinctively Leftfield's own. Along with Underworld, Orbital and to a lesser extent the Chemical Brothers they brought dance into the awareness of the masses (not necessarily a good thing!)
This was recently listed by Arcam Hifi as one of their listeners' best 3 albums (all genres!) to show off the capabilities of their top end hifi equipment. As an Arcam owner myself I could not agree more - the production on Release the Pressure, for example is awesome.


February 9, 2003

One of my favorite CDs of all time. Rates #2 in my personal top ten behind The Prodigy's 'Experience'. The term 'Progressive House' was coined almost specifically to describe Leftfield's unique brand of music. John Digweed has commented that his favorite track of all time is 'Song of Life', and I've personally had the pleasure of hearing him drop it into his sets twice. Leftfield is one of THE MOST influential dance groups ever.