Russe* / St. George* / Vorhaus* ‎– Standard Music Library: Electronic Music

Standard Music Library ‎– ESL 104
Vinyl, LP, Mono


  • Written-ByVorhaus* (tracks: B14, B15), Russe* (tracks: A1, A6, A10, B1, B2, B4 to B13), St. George* (tracks: A1 to A9, B1, B3)


Li de la Russe & Nikki St. George are in fact Delia Derbyshire & Brian Hodgson of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop and Unit Delta Plus. They are credited as simply Russe and St. George on the sleeve and label.

These recordings were used in the Thames television series The Tomorrow People (1973-1979). Side A, tracks 1 to 9 and all of side B appear on the Trunk Records release The Tomorrow People (Original Television Music) [JBH 017].

Most of the tracks are given a short library description as to their nature:

Lure of the Space Goddess - Slow, melodic and spatial expansion
Battle Theme - Heavy industrial, non-melodic
Homeric Theme - Slow pulsating, atonal melody
Greek Concrete - Violent, abstract, non-melodic
Attack of the Alien Minds - Atonal, psycho-physiological
Gothic Submarine - Abstract, non-rhythmic
Whirring Menace - Eerie, high pitched slow pulsed
Souls in Space - Abstract, despairing cries
Time Capsule - Abstract, pulsating harmonic chord
Restless Relays - Rhythmic, humorous
Planetarium - Non-rhythmic
Wet Asteroid - Non-melodic, non-rhythmic
Way Out - Melodic and rhythmic
Fresh Aire - Rhythmic and happy
Delia's Theme - Waltz tempo, complete theme
Tentative Delia - Waltz tempo, non-thematic
Delia's Idea - Four legged waltz
Delia's Psychadelian Waltz - Melodic and rhythmic
Delia's Resolve - Get up and go, melodic
Delia's Dream - Melodic, floating waltz
Delia's Reverie - Thoughtful, melodic
Delia's Fulfilment - Waltz, theme melody
Build Up To... - Menacing crescendo, non-melodic
Snide Rhythms - Non-melodic, free-form rhythm