Lilith ‎– Imagined Compositions For Water

Hushush ‎– HSH13, Hushush ‎– hsh13
CD, Album, Enhanced


1 Mission Bay Recorded At San Diego, California 3:01
2 Mississippi River Recorded At St. Louis, Missouri 11:40
3 Minnehaha Waterfall Recorded At Minneapolis, Minnesota 12:50
4 Roanoke Sound Recorded Near "Lost Colony", North Carolina 7:20
5 Devil's Millhopper Recorded At Gainesville, Florida 6:59
6 Pacific Ocean Recorded Near San Diego, California 1:21
7 The Gulf Of Mexico Recorded At Gulfport, Mississippi 0:30
8 Atlantic Ocean Recorded At Hattaras Island, North Carolina 12:26
9 Lake Michigan Recorded At Evanston, Illinois 9:02

Companies, etc.



""Imagined Compositions For Water" uses a single theme to produce it's effects without synthesizers or traditional instruments. Just as "Stone" (Sub Rosa, 1992) used stone, rocks, etc: and "Redwing" (Sub Rosa, 1995) used air: ICFW uses source audio and video recordings made exclusively from oceans-rivers-lakes-watrfalls-etc., modified using analog & digital filters and effects, and only minimal computer processing. Homemade electronic controllers are used to direct many of the effects.

This album contains recordings of two live performances: at the 1997 ARS Electronica Festival in Linz, Austria (actually, in a boat floating on the Danube River performing to an audience on-shore) and at the Comandini Theatre in Cesena, Italy in February of '98. The recordings from these performances were combined to create the final album-document. I decided to retain some audio residue from the performances (occasional clicks, distortion, audience noise, etc.) as I felt it was an integral component of the live energy of these evenings.

This work was arranged to be actively listened to in one continuous sitting and I wholeheartedly encourage you to approach it with this in mind. Please do not use the "random playback" feature on your CD player or try to use the album as background ambience. For best effect, please listen with subwoofer and maximised stereo separation."

Recorded 21 Feb-98 and 12 Sep-97: Montage created 9 Aug-98

Music & text - 1998 Lilith

fabrique au Canada / made in Canada

Enhanced CD portion contains video of the group performing live at the Chicago Museum of Contemporary Art.

Track positions are listed in Roman numerals. Catalog # appears in capitals on spine and in lower case on back cover.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 20675 14962 2
  • Barcode (String): 620675149622
  • Matrix / Runout: 2J0P1<0031>HSH13
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L481
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI C802