Linda Clifford / Curtis Mayfield ‎– The Right Combination / Rapping

Sequel Records ‎– NEMCD 448
2 × CD, Compilation, Remastered


Linda Clifford/Curtis Mayfield: The Right Combination... Plus
1-1 Linda Clifford / Curtis Mayfield Rock You To Your Socks 4:35
1-2 Linda Clifford / Curtis Mayfield Right Combination 4:44
1-3 Linda Clifford / Curtis Mayfield I'm So Proud 3:38
1-4 Linda Clifford / Curtis Mayfield Ain't No Love Lost 4:25
1-5 Linda Clifford / Curtis Mayfield It's Lovin' Time (Your Baby's Home) 6:22
1-6 Linda Clifford / Curtis Mayfield Love's Sweet Sensation 3:49
1-7 Linda Clifford / Curtis Mayfield Between You Baby And Me 4:41
Bonus Tracks
1-8 Curtis Mayfield This Year 3:51
1-9 Linda Clifford Broadway Gypsy Lady 3:42
1-10 Linda Clifford Gypsy Lady 3:32
1-11 Curtis Mayfield You Are, You Are 3:39
1-12 Linda Clifford Hold Me Close 4:50
1-13 Linda Clifford I Can't Let This Good Thing Get Away 4:15
1-14 Linda Clifford (It's Gonna Be) A Long Long Winter 3:42
1-15 Linda Clifford Turn The Key Softly 4:14
1-16 Linda Clifford Can't Get Enough 2:40
1-17 Linda Clifford You Are, You Are 5:17
1-18 Curtis Mayfield Tomorrow Night For Sure 4:34
Curtis Mayfield: Rapping (Special Promotional Radio Show)
2-1 Curtis Mayfield Rappin' (Interview/Music) Side One 12:20
2-2 Curtis Mayfield Rappin' (Interview/Music) Side Two 12:37

Companies, etc.



"The Right Combination (1980) was Curtis's only duets album with disco star Linda Clifford, featuring the R&B hits 'Between You Baby And Me' and 'Love's Sweet Sensation'. Adds several bonus tracks featuring solo Linda Clifford tracks involving Curtis and non-album tracks by Mayfield himself. Bonus includes rare promo-only interview disc, Curtis Rapping (1972)."
Contains foldout booklet.

Tracks 1-1 to 1-7 originally released on album The Right Combination
Track 1-8 originally released on This Year RSO 919
Track 1-9 originally released on Runaway Love (Edit) / Broadway Gypsy Lady Curtom 0138
Tracks 1-10 & 1-17 originally released on album If My Friends Could See Me Now Curtom CUK 5021
Track 1-11 originally released on You Are, You Are Curtom/Warner CMS 0135
Track 1-12 originally released on Bridge Over Troubled Water / Hold Me Close RSO 921
Track 1-13 originally released on album Let Me Be Your Woman RSO 3902
Track 1-14 originally released on (It's Gonna Be) A Long Long Winter Paramount 0269
Tracks 1-15 & 1-16 originally released on Gemigo 102
Track 1-18 originally released on album Of All Time / Classic Collection Ichiban CUR 2-2902

Tracks 2-1 & 2-2 originally on US Curtom promo Lp Rapping (Special Promotional Radio Show) contains interview with snippets of songs.
Tracks 2-1 contains snippets of "Amen", "We Got To Have Peace", "Superfly", "Pusherman", Think", "Get Down" & "Keep On Keeping On"
Tracks 2-2 contains snippets of "Amen", "Underground", "(Don't Worry) If There's A Hell Below We're All Going To Go", "People Get Ready" & "This Is My Country"
The interview is transcripted on the booklet.

No credits to tracks 1-8 to 2-2

Tracks 1-1 to 1-4, 1-6, 1-7 recorded at Curtom Studios
Track 1-5 recorded at Sigma Sound Studios

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 023224 044822
  • Barcode (String): 5023224044822
  • Label Code: LC 6197
  • Matrix / Runout (mirrored CD1): NEMCD4481-1 MASTERED BY DOCDATA
  • Matrix / Runout (mirrored CD2): NEMCD4481-2 MASTERED BY DOCDATA
  • Mastering SID Code (CD1+2): IFPI LA31