Lionel Garcin, Thomas Barrière, Sébastien Mazoyer, Benjamin Chaval ‎– Intolerable Heat!

Thödol ‎– THO004
CDr, Album


1 Take 1 6:45
2 Take 2 6:50
3 Take 3 7:28
4 Take 4 7:28
5 Take 5 7:30



Released with no loop, sample, or overdub, for an extract of R. Julian’s “The Phantom of the Opera” (1927)

Also available as digital download.


Add Review



March 18, 2015
These live recordings compilation is completely improvised and released without overdubbing or sample. It was recorded during sessions around Yann Lecollaire’s compositions for Rupert Julian’s film “The Phantom of the Opera”. All tracks are different takes of free improvisation on the same sequence of the film which screened in front of them.
Here is a brilliant example of the extraordinary imagination of these musicians where they seem incapable to have not a lot of ideas under their fingers. Groans, mews, growls, noises, strange cries coming out of the instruments ... While some passages might seem to be noise disturbance, these records are consistent, graceful, and sometimes magnificent and beautiful.
It’s pleasant and surprising in these performances to hear how they listen and react to each other. They can suddenly mimic or distort a sound plan to bring it to another level: a saxophone noise reacts to bayan, or a guitar sound reminds a screeching and saxophone lamentations.
The combination of the unpredictability of improvisation and pleasure to get together and play leads them to give the best of themselves. This music from another dimension highlights the strength and sensitivity of these young musicians.
And if we still had need, we find in these recordings proof that Lionel Garcin is certainly one of the most accomplished and imaginative saxophonists of his generation.