Lord Finesse ‎– Return Of The Funky Man

Giant Records ‎– 7599-24437-1, Reprise Records ‎– 7599-24437-1
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Lord Finesse Intro 1:58
A2 Return Of The Funky Man 5:04
A3 I Like My Girls With A Boom 4:14
A4 Yes You May
Featuring – Andre The Giant, Percy P*
A5 Hey Look At Shorty
Co-producer – Latif (2)Mixed By – Jazzy JayVocals [Additional] – Andre The Giant
A6 Praise The Lord
Engineer – Tim McKastyMixed By – Diamond DVocals [Additional] – Andre The Giant
B1 Isn't He Something 4:40
B2 Fat For The 90's 4:24
B3 Stop Sweating The Next Man
Co-producer – Lord FinesseProducer – Aladdin*, S.L J.*
B4 Funky On The Fast Tip
Producer – Peter Wane
B5 That's How Smooth I Am 5:16
B6 Party Over Here 4:18

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Jazzy Jay Recording Studio,
except track A6: recorded at 1212 Recording Studio.
Mastered at Hit Factory, New York.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Label Code (Backcover): LC6211
  • Label Code (Sides A & B, label): LC0322
  • Barcode: 07599-24437-15
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, stamped): WMME Alsdorf 759 924437-1-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, stamped): WMME Alsdorf 759 924437-1-B

Other Versions (5 of 14) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
PRO-A-5202 Lord Finesse Return Of The Funky Man(LP, Album, Promo) Giant Records, Reprise Records PRO-A-5202 US 1992 Sell This Version
9 24437-4, 4-24437 Lord Finesse Return Of The Funky Man(Cass, Album, Dol) Giant Records, Giant Records 9 24437-4, 4-24437 US 1992 Sell This Version
9 24437-2 Lord Finesse Return Of The Funky Man(CD, Album) Giant Records 9 24437-2 US 1992 Sell This Version
7599-24437-1 Lord Finesse Return Of The Funky Man(LP, Album, Unofficial, W/Lbl) Giant Records (5) 7599-24437-1 Germany Unknown Sell This Version
none Lord Finesse Return Of The Funky Man(LP, Album, Unofficial) Not On Label none Europe 1999 Sell This Version



Add Review



November 4, 2009

Lord Finesse is back with his second album in titled Return Of The Funky Man. This time he unaccompanied by DJ Mike Smooth for his second outing for 1991. It features production from Diamond D, Showbiz as well as Lord Finesse himself. The album was engineered by The Original Jazzy Jay and Skeff Anselm.

For me, this album took Lord Finesse last album Funky Technician to the next level. The production has advanced from simple James Brown loops to thunderous anthems such as Fat for the 90's and Praise The Lord. As well as cool posse cuts like Yes You May and Show 'Em How We Do Things. Thru to dope laid back grooves like Hey Look At Shorty and That's How Smooth I Am.

The album also features collaboration tracks with Andre The Giant and Percee P. This is once of my personal favourite Hip Hop album from the 90’s. It's a great album from start to finish, another album I would recommend anyone purchasing.