Luke Slater ‎– X-Tront Vol. 2

Peacefrog Records ‎– PF0011, Peacefrog Records ‎– PF11X
2 × Vinyl, 12", 33 ⅓ RPM, Album
Vinyl, 12", 45 RPM, 33 ⅓ RPM, Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

X-Tront Vol. 2
A1 Sea Serpent 5:20
A2 Splitting Atoms
Co-producer – Alan Sage
B1 Natural Science 9:20
B2 Taking Sides (Many Mix) 6:12
C1 Moave Violin 8:00
C2 From Time To Time
Co-producer – Alan Sage
D1 The Secret Gardens 6:25
D2 Colonian Space
Co-producer – Alan Sage
12-A Dreams Of Children
12-B1 Star Travel
12-B2 Expectation No. 1

Companies, etc.



Limited edition early version of this album release, which included a bonus 12" described on a sticker on the sleeve as "limited ambient 12". Side A of the 12" plays at 45rpm, side B at 33rpm.

There are several mismatches between the cover and the labels on some track titles and times:

Covers reads:

A1 Sea Serpent (5:20)
A2 Splitting Atoms (6:20)
B1 Natural Science (9:30)
B2 Taking Sides (6;20)
C1 Mauve Violin (5:30)
C2 Time To Time (6:08)
D1 Secret Gardens (6:25)
D2 Colonian Space Unexplored (6:00)

Cover states A2, C2 and D2 are co-produced by Alan Sage, labels only credit him on A2.

Also the track list on side B of PF11X is printed incorrectly, below is the order they appear.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (A-side run-out): PF 011 - A ✱-J.T.S.-✱
  • Matrix / Runout (B-side run-out): PF 011 - B ✱-J.T.S.-✱
  • Matrix / Runout (C-side run-out): PF -11-C² ✱-J.T.S.-✱
  • Matrix / Runout (D-side run-out): PF 011-D ✱-J.T.S.-✱
  • Matrix / Runout (Bonus 12 A-side run-out): PF 11X A₂ ✱-J.T.S.-✱
  • Matrix / Runout (Bonus 12 B-side run-out): PF 11X B₂ ✱-J.T.S.-✱

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
PF011 Luke Slater X-Tront Vol. 2(2x12", Album) Peacefrog Records PF011 UK 1993 Sell This Version
PF11 C.D., PF-CD0011 Luke Slater X-Tront Vol. 2(CD, Album) Peacefrog Records, Peacefrog Records PF11 C.D., PF-CD0011 UK 1993 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



July 22, 2015
edited about 1 year ago
Although Luke Slater was already widely regarded as a techno legend prior to releasing this, it was this whole release which surely cemented that belief from any possible doubt.

Mauve Violin is the standout track as far as I'm concerned. Layers upon layers of synths, beats, filters, spikes and tight percussion programmed to perfection this energetic, heavy techno number. Rivalling anything else from Detroit or the near continent at the time and really holding its own.

Puzzled how it wasn't independently released on twelve, as it really rocked the place when played by discerning DJs.


December 5, 2014
Luke Slater "good Producer"...fella look at this man's back catalogue get an armchair education and rephrase that whey you got educated...


September 25, 2014

very good as production.
Recommended tracks:A1 Sea Serpent
B1 Natural Science
C2 From Time To Time
D1 The Secret Gardens
Luke Slater good producer.