Luna (5) ‎– Live

Everlasting Records (2) ‎– EVERCD160
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Bewitched 4:38
2 Chinatown 4:53
3 Friendly Advice 6:13
4 Pup Tent 6:00
5 Sideshow By The Seashore 3:05
6 Anesthesia 4:43
7 Tiger Lily 5:03
8 4000 Days 4:12
9 Hello Little One 4:29
10 Moon Palace 3:38
11 Lost In Space 3:35
12 23 Minutes In Brussels 7:46
13 4th Of July
Written-By – Galaxie 500
14 Bonnie And Clyde
Written-By – Serge Gainsbourg



Recorded at the 9:30 Club in Washington D.C., December 10 1999 and the Knitting Factory in New York City, July 14-15, 2000.

Licensed from The Arena Rock Recording Company.
Track 3 is really "Friendly Advice" on this release (The Arena edition contained a different track instead, but still credited "Friendly Advice").

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8 426946 016011

Other Versions (5 of 7) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ARE 017-1 Luna (5) Live(2xLP, Album, Gat) Arena Rock ARE 017-1 US 2000 Sell This Version
ARE 017-2 Luna (5) Live(CD, Album, MP) Arena Rock ARE 017-2 US 2000 Sell This Version
ARE 017-2 Luna (5) Live(CD, Album) Arena Rock ARE 017-2 US 2000 Sell This Version
BBQMCD 218, Luna (5) Live(CD, Album) Beggars Banquet, Playground Music Scandinavia BBQMCD 218, Scandinavia 2001 Sell This Version
BBQMCD 218 Luna (5) Live(CD, Album) Beggars Banquet BBQMCD 218 UK 2001 Sell This Version



Add Review



July 31, 2011

It’s no secret ... by now every knows I have a soft spot for Luna, Galaxie 500, and all things from Dean & Britta. This is Luna’s only live body of work with Britta Phillips, who despite what Dean says in his book ‘Black Postcards,’ adds much more to the band than having the ” ... best visible panty line in rock and roll.”

I spoke with Dean regarding the release of ‘Live,’ asking him why it had taken so long for Luna to release a live recording. I remember him cupping one hand behind his neck, and said, “ Just alot of things came together. I’m not saying they came together at the right time mind you, I’m just saying that the opportunity was there, and things lined up.” He went on to explain that both the record company and the publishing company had dropped them, and that being the case, after expenses, the band owned everything. There would be no royalties to be paid, and if they handled things themselves, they may just see a nice piece of change on the release. They pulled the tracks for this recording from three shows in New York City, and Washington D.C. Several of the songs are pleasantly choppy and very relaxed, while on others the band manages to stretch out and even do a bit of improvisation. The band’s line up is notably not the same throughout the disc, making this a somewhat historical recording, showing the transition ... the Washington D.C. show is the last with original bassist Justin Harwood, while the other two shows are with bassist Britta Phillips, who also sings on several tracks. Yet regardless of this change, the band sounds just like you’d expect Luna to sound, and gives a hint at what is just around the corner when the band actually changes, becoming Dean & Britta.

I went on to tell him that alot of us had been waiting on such an adventure, as we’d been relying on some pretty bad live show bootlegs to keep us satisfied. Just for the record, this is a great album, not just capturing, but putting the listener in the a moment, and at the show. Dean Wareham, the lead singer, rolls on with his songs about after hours bars, suspicious strangers, and late night taxi rides through New York City. Luna’s songs have always been laden with the mysterious qualities of big cities, surrounding late nights and early mornings, where things are hectic ... yet through Dean’s eyes, the film seems to slow down, allowing us to see the whole world frame by frame, as he manages to capture snap shots that convey it all. Like the Velvet Underground, some thirty five years earlier, Luna does not copy their style, but picks up right were they left off ... the continuing saga of life in the city set to a soundtrack of guitar heavy surround sound, where they seem to almost stumble into a quiet groove of layering, soundscapes, and psychedelic wonderings.

Anyway, this isn’t a live album in the sense that most of us envision a live album. ‘Live’ covers several incarnations of Luna, with various players, and is taken from several venues ... never the less, the music is here, the trippieness is in tack, and all of the songs have been both well played and recorded. Of course it goes without saying that one fan is going to be disappointed that their favorite song was not included, while others will say that they’ve witnessed a better recording of their favorite song. In any event, if you’re a fan of Luna, you’re going to find this release a real joy. It’s hard for me to comment on how this record will translate to those who haven’t seen the band in person, because there is a certain undefinable magic to a Luna show that hangs in the air, where for ninety minutes of so you are totally raptured by the grace and ease that is LUNA.

After their last show in Philadelphia, I said to Dean, I’ve wanted to say this since I first saw you in Swarthmore, a million years ago with Galaxie 500 ... “I’m always amazed at the sound you guys make, and you actually play so few notes.” Dean put his finger to his lips and went, “Shhhhhh.”

As Joe Levy said, "These are the stories Luna has told on five albums of guitar drone, whispers, shuffles and sighs. Over that time the band has perfected a precise and passionate sound, both chilly and warm at the same time. Guitars glow like filaments in vacuum tubes, guitars flicker like candle flames, guitars pulse cooly like neon, guitars grow wings and fly into the sun." And he's right, tough he left out one thing ... this album gives you a glimpse of what it was like for Luna to lay down these tracks before they were perfected and committed to vinyl.

As far as live albums go, with street wise hipsters like these, it doesn’t get any better. Though it does make me long for a quality live recording by The Velvet Underground. If you’re a fan, you’re not gonna want to miss this one.