MK* ‎– Essential Classic Mixes Volume 1

2 × Vinyl, 12", Compilation, Unofficial Release

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Happyhead Digital Love Thing (Underground Mix)
Remix – MK*
A2 MK* Feat. Alana Burning (Extended Mix)
B1 Nightcrawlers Push The Feeling On (Dub Of Doom Mix)
Remix – MK*
B2 MK* Feat. Alana Always (Underground Mix)
C1 MK* Feel The Fire (Wax Fruit Re-Edit)
Edited By [Uncredited] – DJ Blackout
C2 MK* Somebody New (MI Mix)
C3 MK* Decay
D1 Captain Hollywood* All I Want (MK Blades Dub)
Remix – MK*
D2 MK* The Rains


Catalog is only inscribed on the records and can't be seen on labels.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, Stamped): ECM 004 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, Stamped): ECM 004 B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C, Stamped): ECM 004 C
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D, Stamped): ECM 004 D



Add Review



December 6, 2012
edited over 5 years ago
These unofficial bootlegs are a bit tricky. On the other hand the artist, DJ, or producer involved doesn't get a dime. But then again, who has the time or money to hunt down each sought-after, limited small quantity, available trough this or that store in, rare as hens teeth release.
Soooo… if we leave the ethics aside, this isn't a bad release by who ever compiled this (I have one UK-based store in mind, notorious for bootlegging, but who knows?). Let's start with the less-positives notes. I guess it's a fair play that MK's biggest hit, his remix of 'Push the Feeling On', is included but of all the songs its sound quality is the worst. How hard can it be to include it properly? It's basically available everywhere! MK's remix of, errmm, Captain Hollywood is a nice choice but I personally don't see it as a buried treasure. Not that common, sure. But still, not that great.
But then, the positive notes. Someone truly knows how to satisfy collectors. Two songs from the sought after 'Decay' EP (1991) on Retroactive are included. 'Feel The Fire' is nice but 'Decay' is the most techno-ish song by MK which I'm aware of. You surely know the story about 'The Original Video Clash' by Lil Louis, which was actually by Marshall Jefferson. Tyree made his own version. So did Mike Dunn. Well, to me it sounds like MK had his own version too and it's the best. But the goodies don't fall short. 'Somebody New (MI Mix)' is a sublime piece of house music - clearly the best version available and thank God it's included. 'Burning' is another masterpiece by MK and once again, this compilation includes the best version.
Overall, this is a rather decent bootleg release and maybe one of the best ones I know. If you're a MK fan and don't mind the doubtful bootlegging ethics this could be a worthy purchase. And who ever compiled this, kudos to you.