Maas ‎– Latitude

Soma Quality Recordings ‎– SOMA CD7
CD, Album


1 Festina! 7:05
2 Upstate 6:44
3 Michigan Breaks 6:55
4 Look At Me Now, Falling 10:10
5 Esplanade 7:27
6 Suture 7:36
7 Shrift 4:04
8 Eurostar 6:57
9 Another Saturday Night 7:31
10 Lost Soul 8:50

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 024856 600073

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SOMA LP 07 Maas Latitude(2xLP, Album, W/Lbl) Soma Quality Recordings SOMA LP 07 UK 1997 Sell This Version
soma lp7 Maas Latitude(2xLP, Album) Soma Quality Recordings soma lp7 UK 1997 Sell This Version
SOMA CD7, soma cd7, 545.1007.20 Maas Latitude(CD, Album) Soma Quality Recordings, Soma Quality Recordings, [PIAS] SOMA CD7, soma cd7, 545.1007.20 Europe 1997 Sell This Version
SOMA CD 07 PROMO Maas Latitude(CD, Album, Promo) Soma Quality Recordings SOMA CD 07 PROMO UK 1997 Sell This Version



Add Review



November 9, 2004
edited over 13 years ago

Bright and shiny tech-house, as produced by one of the masters of the genre, Maas (known to his mother as Ewan Pearson). On LATITUDE, his first album, he set the standard for others behind him. “Festina,” for example, combines glimmering chords with a strong kick drum and a steady bass line, showing that beauty can make you move with no problem. But “Upstate” shows that he can handle darkness and aggressiveness readily, too. “Look at Me Now, Falling,” one of the stronger tracks, shifts from downtempo into breaks, but retains its dreamy, atmospheric quality from one rhythm to the next. But even the more straightforward tracks, like “Suture” or the disco-throwback of “Another Saturday Night,” display the same attention to harmonics and rhythm. “Lost Soul” closes the album on an ambient tip, more akin to Pearson’s work as World of Apples. Whatever name he uses, you know it’s solid all the way through.