Maciej Zieliński -- Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Łukasz Borowicz ‎– V Symphony

DUX ‎– DUX 0988
CD, Digipak


V Symphony, For Symphonic Orchestra (2012)
1 __ I Allegro 8:23
2 __ II Andante 5:28
3 __ III Allegro Vigoroso 18:36
4 __ IV Andante 5:25
5 __ V Liberamente, Poco Rubato 8:10
Elemen T, For Orchestra (2012)
6 __ I Melo D 5:18
7 __ II Harmo N.Y. 5:56
8 __ III Glissan D 5:07

Companies, etc.



Total Time: 62:56
℗ 2012 Polskie Radio
Recorded live at the Witold Lutoslawski Concert Studio on 29th of January 2012 (V Symphony) and on 17th of June 2012 (Elemen T).
Disc is packaged in a three panel digipak with a booklet insert. The 24-page booklet features notes in Polish and English.

V Symphony (pronounced vi) is in fact only the second symphony in the catalogue of Maciej Zieliński's work. It goes beyond the catalogue numbering conventions and tries to reach out to the great tradition of the genre, where Beethoven's Symphony No. 5 is not only the pinnacle of the composer's career, but also, according to E.T.A. Hoffman, "the essence of romanticism". The key motive of the piece, three short G notes and one long E flat, was used in the World War II broadcasts by the BBC: a Morse code rendering of the letter "V" for "Victory". (quoted from the liner notes, p.5)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5902547009889
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Other (Square silver "ZPAV-ZAiKS" Compact Disc/Cassette Tape Hologram sticker on back sleeve): HH 3554322
  • Rights Society: ZAIKS BIEM
  • Matrix / Runout: 14805 DUX0988 M.Zieliński
  • Other (Printed on hub): MADE IN EU CD format
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI UV61