Macy Gray ‎– On How Life Is

Epic ‎– 494423.2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Why Didn't You Call Me
Backing Vocals – David Wilder*, Jeremy RuzumnaBass – David Wilder*Drum Programming – Darryl SwannGuitar – Jinsoo Lim
2 Do Something
Bass – Dion Derek Murdock*Electric Piano, Synthesizer [Moog] – Jeremy RuzumnaGuitar – Jinsoo LimMusic By – Andre Benjamin, Antwan Patton, Bernard Worrell*, Cameron Gipp, Darryl Barnes, Dion Derek Murdock*, Garry Shider, George Clinton Jr.*, Greg Mays, Patrick Brown, Raymon Murray*, Rico Wade, Robert Barnett, Thomas BurtonVibraphone [Vibes] – Patrick Warren
3 Caligula
Backing Vocals – Darryl SwannGuitar – Darryl SwannMusic By – Macy GraySynthesizer – Jon Brion, Patrick WarrenSynthesizer [Farfisa], Clavinet – Jeremy Ruzumna
4 I Try
Bass – David Wilder*Guitar – Bendrix WilliamsMusic By – David Wilder*, Jinsoo Lim, Macy GrayPiano, Bells [Orchestra] – Jon Brion
5 Sex-O-Matic Venus Freak
Bass – Dion Derek Murdock*Electric Piano [Rhodes] – Jeremy RuzumnaGuitar – Blackbird McKnight*, Gabriel MosesMusic By – Dion Derek Murdock*Synthesizer – Rami Jaffee
6 I Can't Wait To Meetchu
Electric Piano [Rhodes] – Jeremy RuzumnaGuitar – Miles TackettHorns – Charlie Green*, Michael Harris, Steve BaxterMusic By – Miles Tackett
7 Still
Arranged By [Strings] – David CampbellGuitar – Jay JoyceMusic By – Bill Esses, Jeff BlueVibraphone [Vibes] – Jon Brion
8 I've Committed Murder
Marimba, Synthesizer, Vibraphone [Vibes] – Jon BrionMusic By – C. Sigman*, Eddie Harris, F. Lai*, Kiilu BeckwithProgrammed By – Kiilu BeckwithSaxophone [Solo] – Ngozi "Guz" Inyama*
9 A Moment To Myself
Electric Piano [Rhodes], Organ [Wurlitzer] – Patrick WarrenMusic By – Damon Yu Wimbley*, Mark Morales, Miles Tackett
10 The Letter
Keyboards [Optigon], Mellotron [Chamberlain] – Jeremy RuzumnaKeyboards [Optigon], Piano – Jon BrionKeyboards [Optigon], Piano, Mellotron [Chamberlain] – Rami Jaffe*Music By – Jamie Houston, Matt Sherrod



"Do Something" contains a sample from "Git Up Git Out" (P. Brown, R. Murray, R. Wade, C. Gipp, R. Barnett, A. Benjamin, A. Patton, T. Burton) performed by Outkast and a sample from "Funky for You" (G. Mays, D. Barnes, G. Clinton Jr., G. Shider, B. Worrell) performed by Nice & Smooth.

"I've Committed Murder" features samples from "Live Right Now" (E. Harris) performed by Eddie Harris and an interpolation of "Theme from Love Story" (F. Lai, C. Sigman).

"A Moment to Myself" contains a sample from "Human Beat Box" (M. Morales, D. Wimbley) performed by Kurtis Blow, excerpts from "Wild Style" and a sample of "Do Your Thang Baby" from the track "Entropy" as recorded by DJ Shadow & The Grooverobbers.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4893391026423

Other Versions (5 of 34) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
EK 69490 Macy Gray On How Life Is(CD, Album) Epic, Clean Slate EK 69490 US 1999 Sell This Version
494423 2, EPC 494423 2, 4944232000 Macy Gray On How Life Is(CD, Album) Epic, Epic, Clean Slate 494423 2, EPC 494423 2, 4944232000 Europe 1999 Sell This Version
EK 69490 Macy Gray On How Life Is(CD, Album) Epic EK 69490 Thailand 1999 Sell This Version
494423 9 Macy Gray On How Life Is(CD, Album) Epic 494423 9 Australia 1999 Sell This Version
494423 4 Macy Gray On How Life Is(Cass, Album) Epic, Vitosha Entertainment 494423 4 Bulgaria 1999 Sell This Version