Madame Bovary ‎– Leave The Kids Alive

Bug'Art ‎– 900101-1
CD, Mini-Album


1 Leave The Kids Alive 4:28
2 I Guess It Is 3:58
3 Welcome 2:45
4 Secret 3:58
5 Je Sais 3:50
6 Je Pense À Toi 4:09

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: SACEM / SDRM
  • Matrix / Runout: AREACEM DIGIP 9001011



Add Review



May 31, 2012
Although this is only just over 20 minutes long, it gives you a good idea of what this band are doing. The title track thunders through with a heavy dance-orientated drum rhythm ushering in a heavy, catchy song which would get most anyone up and dancing, if they could keep up with the manic tempo. It has the makings of classic dancey-pop body music. "I Guess It Is" breaks in with fearsome tension & that relentless, unstoppable sound which is gated drum machine. This is another track which works itself into your unconscious like some benevolent drug. "Welcome" picks up the beat a bit, fairly flying along to leave their contemporaries behind - a sort of High Octane disco music. "Secret" slows the beat down to a fairly leisurely jog, with muffled vox not unlike something the BEATLES might do - indeed, this song has a sort of hybrid 60's-cum-E.B.M. sound which may appeal to many. "Je Sais" opens slowly with samples, picking up into a more melodic little number not unlike an upbeat "Love Will Tear Us Apart". The final track "Je Pense A Toi" is a medium-paced little track, full of colour & size - it's an album track, but full & enjoyable all the same.
In all, MADAME BOVARY are an interesting duo to seek out. They occupy that grey area wherein lurk ATTRITION & modern SEVERED HEADS. They are closely akin to E.B.M. without being all electronic. Nor are they bland or bloodless. They have their own sound, and it's worth looking into.

Originally reviewed for Soft Watch.