Magic Brother, cassettes ‎– The West Country

Onomatopoeia Records ‎– HUM11
Vinyl, 10", 2 front and back covers in foldout sleeve


01 Magic Brother The West Country 4:56
02 Magic Brother Holy Cow 5:46
03 cassettes The West Country 4:02
04 cassettes Receipts 3:42
05 Magic Brother, cassettes The West Country (Demo) 4:28



One way up is cassettes - The West Country, the other way up is Magic Brother - West Country. Either way up this is the cover of the next Onomatopoeia Records release which is catalogue number HUM11. It's a split 10" with two front covers (as seen here) AND two back covers in a unique double sleeve AND 2 versions of West Country (one by each band) AND 2 other tracks (one by each band) AND a special unlisted demo.

Track listing:
01 Magic Brother - The West Country
02 Magic Brother - Holy Cow
03 cassettes - The West Country
04 cassettes - Receipts
05 special bonus original demo

Sometime ago Sam Fullman and Nick Reeves co-wrote a song called The West Country. More recently they were playing this song in different version, with their own bands, respectively Magic Brother and cassettes. Onomatopoiea Records thought it was be fun and interesting to ask both bands to record their version, plus another song each, for a split EP release. The original demo is an unlisted bonus track.

This release is Magic Brother’s debut and is cassettes first official release after a series of underground, lo-fi, self-released albums. Both bands come from Croydon, South London and this record is very much a Made In Croydon release.

Onomatopoeia Records is a one-man record label that is an independent as they come. Previous releases include: William D Drake (Cardiacs), They Came From The Stars I Saw Them, & Pinhead Nation.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 060174957048