Manfred Mann* ‎– 2006

Edel Records ‎– 0173262ERE, Edel Records ‎– 0157912ERE
CD, Album, Copy Protected

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Manfred Mann '06 With Thomas D Demons And Dragons
Guitar – Matt Loffstadt, Mick RogersKeyboards – Manfred Mann (2)Music By, Lyrics By – Mann*, McAloon*, Super Furry AnimalsRap [German] – Thomas DVocals – Chris Thompson, Noel McCalla
2 Manfred Mann's Earth Band Two Brides
Lyrics By – Guy*Mixed By – Dean HartMusic By – Mann*
3 Manfred Mann '06 Down In Mexico
Keyboards – Manfred Mann (2)Music By, Lyrics By – Lieber And Stoller*Vocals – Chris Thompson, Noel McCallaVoice [Talking], Lyrics By [Poem] – Don Freeman (3)
4 Manfred Mann '06 Happenstance
Guitar – Mick RogersInstruments [Other Instruments] – Manfred Mann (2)Music By – Mann*
5 Manfred Mann '06 The History Of Sexual Jealousy Parts 17 To 24
Co-producer, Instruments [Other Instruments] – Dean HartGuitar – Mick RogersMusic By, Lyrics By – N Currie*Saxophone [Solo] – Barbara ThompsonVocals – Noel McCalla
6 Manfred Mann '06 Black Eyes
Drums – Geoff DunnGuitar – Matt LoffstadtGuitar [Solo] – Mick RogersKeyboards, Performer [Bass Part] – Manfred Mann (2)Music By – Mann*, Pook (2)
7 Manfred Mann's Earth Band Mars
Composed By [Theme] – Gustav HolstLyrics By – Mann*, Guy*Music By [Based On A Theme By Gustav Holst] – Mann*Vocals – Hazel Hernandez, Manfred Mann (2), Noel McCalla
8 Manfred Mann's Earth Band Get Me Out Of This
Composed By [Theme] – Jules MassenetGuitar – Matt LoffstadtLyrics By – Mann*, Guy*Music By [Based On A Theme By Jules Massenet] – Mann*Performer – Melanie PappenheimVocals [Chorus] – Chris ThompsonVocals [Classical] – Henry's Eight
9 Manfred Mann's Earth Band Frog
Composed By [Based On Easter Overture, A Russian Easter Hymn] – TraditionalMusic By, Lyrics By – Mann*Vocals [Russian] – Arte Chorale
10 Manfred Mann's Earth Band Two Friends
Lyrics By – Guy*Music By – Mann*Vocals – Chris Thompson
11 Manfred Mann '06 Monkmann
Arranged By, Co-producer – Dean HartComposed By – Trad*Drums – Geoff DunnGuitar – Mick RogersKeyboards – Manfred Mann (2)Music By, Lyrics By – Hart*, Mann*Vocals [Sample] – Arte Chorale
12 Manfred Mann's Earth Band Marche Slave
Bass, Mixed By – Dean HartComposed By [Theme] – Tchaikovsky*Music By [Based On Theme By Tchaikovsky] – Mann*
13 Manfred Mann '06 With Thomas D Independent Woman
Backing Vocals, Co-producer, Rhythm Guitar, Lead Vocals – Dean HartComposed By [Based On Piano Concerto] – Tchaikovsky*Lyrics By – Hart*, Clear*, Mann*, Williams*, Shante*, Guy*Lyrics By, Rap [Deutsch] – Thomas DRap [Sample] – Roxanne Shante*Vocals [Low Chant] – Manfred Mann (2), Noel McCalla
14 Manfred Mann '06 Dragons (Reprise) 2:01

Companies, etc.



Thanks to Chris Thompson, Hazel Hernandez, Arte Chorale, Cassandra Steen, Henry's Eight, Thomas Hegarty. Drum loops courtesy of Spectrasonics Burning Groves and Retrofunk.

On slipcase:
Diamond The Finest Music Collection
℗ & © 2006 edel records GmbH
Distribution: Edel Records.
Made in Germany.

On CD booklet/inlay:
Made in Germany by optimal media production.
℗ & © 2004 Petbrook Limited, exclusively licensed to edel records GmbH.
Distribution: Edel Records.
Made in Germany.

Track #5 is inconsistently titled "The History Of Sexual Jealousy Parts 17 To 24" in the booklet and "The History Of Sexual Jealousy" on the CD. Both titles do not correspond to the original title as given on Momus - Tender Pervert, a release by the writer (compare to track B1).

Track 6 is a rendition of "Очи Чёрные" (famous Russian romance song)

The release is essentially the same as Manfred Mann '06 With Manfred Mann's Earth Band Featuring Chris Thompson / Thomas D / Dean Hart / Barbara Thompson - 2006", but it is released in a cardboard slipcase with the main artist "Manfred Mann" on the front and spine.

Some copies carry a sticker "Das Original".

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (On Inlay): 4 029758 579121
  • Barcode (On Slipcase): 4 029758 732625
  • Matrix / Runout: manufactured by optimal media production A410303-01 ifpi L571
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 9712
  • Mastering SID Code: ifpi L571
  • Rights Society: GEMA/BIEM
  • Label Code: LC 01666
  • Other (On Slipcase): 0173262ERE
  • Other (On CD & Inlay): 0157912ERE


Add Review



December 17, 2015
It's not an album to start to listen to MMEB, but it's obviously the best album by Manfred Mann from the90s-2000s.
Singer Noel McCalla was in his best form. This is the album with an atmosphere. A little bit dark as our times.
You'll follow Manfred Mann & MMEB from dramatic ballad "Demons And Dragons" via atmospheric cover of "Down In Mexico" by Leiber-Stoller, short but impressive version of Russian traditional song "Black Eyes", dark joke "Frog" with choral chants and Gothic "Monkmann" to postive hit "Independent Woman" based on Tchaikovsky's theme.
The album is not as bright as his records from the 70s but it grows with each listening.