The Manhattan Transfer ‎– Extensions

Atlantic ‎– LWA-5435
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Birdland
Alto Saxophone – Richie ColeArranged By [Rhythm], Piano – Michael OmartianArranged By [Vocals] – Janis SiegelDrums – Jeff Porcaro, Ralph HumphreySynthesizer – Michael BoddickerWritten-By – Zawinul*, Jon Hendricks
A2 Wacky Dust
Arranged By [Rhythm], Bass, Synthesizer – Greg MathiesonArranged By [Vocals] – Janis Siegel, Jay GraydonBass – David HungateDrums – Ralph HumphreyProgrammed By [Synthesizer] – Michael BoddickerRhythm Guitar – Jimmy WybleWritten-By – Oscar Levant, Stanley Adams
A3 Nothin' You Can Do About It
Bass – David HungateDrums – Ralph HumphreySynthesizer – Ian UnderwoodSynthesizer, Soloist – Greg MathiesonWritten-By – Steve KipnerWritten-By, Arranged By, Guitar – Jay GraydonWritten-By, Arranged By, Piano – David Foster
A4 Coo Coo U
Arranged By – Greg Mathieson, Tim HauserSynthesizer – Michael BoddickerWritten-By – Bill Loughborough, David Wheat
A5 Body And Soul
Arranged By – Phil MattsonBass – Chuck DomanicoDrums – Ralph HumphreyPiano – Bill MaysWritten-By – Edward Heyman, Frank Eyton, John Green*, Robert Sour
B1.a Twilight Zone
Written-By – Bernard Hermann*
B1.b Twilight Tone
Bass – David HungateDrums, Bongos – Jeff PorcaroMusic By, Arranged By, Guitar – Jay GraydonMusic By, Lyrics By, Arranged By – Alan PaulPiano – Jai WindingPiccolo Flute – Don RobertsRhythm Guitar – Steve Lukeather*Synthesizer – Michael Boddicker
B2 Trickle Trickle
Arranged By – The Manhattan TransferArranged By, Guitar – Jay GraydonBass – Abraham LaborielCongas – Paulinho Da CostaDrums – Ralph HumphreyGuitar – Dean ParksPiano – Michael OmartianTenor Saxophone, Soloist – Don RobertsWritten-By – Clarence Bassett
B3 Shaker Song
Alto Saxophone, Soloist – Richie ColeArranged By [Lyrics] – Janis Siegel, Tim HauserArranged By [Rhythm], Piano – Greg MathiesonBass – Andy MusonDrums – Alex Acuna*Electric Guitar – Dean ParksLyrics By – Allee Willis, David LasleyMusic By – John Beckenstein*Percussion – Paulinho Da Costa
B4 Foreign Affair
Arranged By – Gene PuerlingConductor – Clair Fischer*Written-By – Tom Waits

Companies, etc.


  • Artwork By [Front Cover Illustration] – Pater Sato
  • Design [Album Design], Art DirectionTaki Ono
  • Mastered ByBernie Grundman
  • Other [Costume Design] – Jean-Paul Gaultier
  • Other [Hair] – Pascal
  • Other [Make-up] – Koelle
  • Photography [Back Cover] – Matthew Ralston
  • ProducerJay Graydon
  • Recorded By [Basic Tracks]Bill Thomas, Joseph Bogan*
  • Tracking By [Overdubs], Mixed ByJay Graydon


This album is dedicated to Eddie Jefferson (1919-1979)-The world's greatest jazz singer.

Basic tracks recorded at Downbreaker Studio, San Fernando, California
Overdubs & mixing at Garden Rake Studios, Studio City, Ca.
Mastered at A&M Studios, Los Angeles, Ca.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Dead wax etching Side A): LWA-5435-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Dead wax etching Side B): LWA-5435-B

Other Versions (5 of 36) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SD 19258 The Manhattan Transfer Extensions(LP, Album, SP) Atlantic SD 19258 US 1979 Sell This Version
S 90.186 The Manhattan Transfer Extensions(LP, Album) Atlantic S 90.186 Spain 1979 Sell This Version
QSD 19258 The Manhattan Transfer Extensions(LP, Album) Atlantic QSD 19258 Canada 1979 Sell This Version
CS-19258 The Manhattan Transfer Extensions(Cass, Album, RE, CR,) Atlantic CS-19258 Canada Unknown Sell This Version
UDCD 578 The Manhattan Transfer Extensions(CD, Album, RE, RM, 24 ) Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab, Atlantic, Rhino Records (2) UDCD 578 US 1995 Sell This Version