Maria Muldaur ‎– Sweet Harmony

Reprise Records ‎– MS 2235
Vinyl, LP, Album, Los Angeles Pressing

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Sweet Harmony
Arranged By [String Arrangement] – Nick DeCaroBass – Bill DickinsonCongas, Vibraphone [Vibes] – Victor FeldmanDrums – Earl PalmerGuitar – Amos GarrettLead Guitar – David Wilcox (2)Piano – Michael Finnigan*Written-By – William "Smokey" Robinson*
A2 Sad Eyes
Arranged By [Vocal Arrangement] – Greg PrestopinoArranged By [Woodwind Arrangement] – Trevor LawrenceBacking Vocals [Background Vocals] – Maria MuldaurBass – Willie WeeksClarinet – Johnny Rotella*Drums – Russ KunkelElectric Guitar, Slide Guitar – J.J. CaleElectric Piano [Fender Rhodes] – William Smith (2)Guitar – Waddy WachtelPercussion – Victor FeldmanWritten-By – Neil Sedaka, Phil Cody
A3 Lying Song
Clarinet – Jim Gordon (2)Drums – Earl PalmerPiano – James BookerTrombone – Benny PowellTuba – Howard Johnson (3)Written-By – Kate McGarrigle
A4 Rockin' Chair
Alto Saxophone [Alto Sax] – Marshal Royal*, Plas JohnsonArranged By, Conductor – Benny CarterBaritone Saxophone [Baritone Sax] – Sahib ShihabBass – Larry GalesDrums – Earl PalmerGuitar – Kenny BurrellHarmony Vocals [Harmony By] – Hoagy CarmichaelPiano – Joe HarnellTrombone – Britt WoodmanTrumpet – Gene Goe, Oscar BrashearWritten-By – Hoagy Carmichael
A5 I Can't Stand It
Alto Saxophone [Alto Sax] – Jim Gordon (2)Arranged By [Horn Arrangement] – Howard Johnson (3)Baritone Saxophone [Baritone Sax] – Howard Johnson (3)Bass – Michael Moore (2)Drums – Earl PalmerGuitar – Amos Garrett, John GirtonPercussion – Victor FeldmanPiano, Organ – Michael Finnigan*Tenor Saxophone [Tenor Sax] – Fred JacksonTrombone – Benny PowellTrumpet – Al AaronsWritten-By – Smokey McAllister
B1 We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye
Alto Saxophone [Alto Sax Solo], Soloist – Plas JohnsonAlto Saxophone [Alto Sax] – Marshal Royal*Arranged By – Benny CarterBaritone Saxophone [Baritone Sax] – Sahib ShihabBass – Larry GalesDrums – Earl PalmerGuitar – Kenny BurrellLead Guitar – John GirtonTrombone – Britt WoodmanTrumpet – Gene Goe, Oscar BrashearVocals [Bezbo Sisters] – Ellen Kearney, Maria Muldaur, Mary Ann PriceWritten-By – Harry Woods (2)
B2 Back By Fall
Alto Saxophone [Alto Sax Solo], Soloist – Vi ReddArranged By, Conductor – Howard Johnson (3)Bass – Willie WeeksConcertmaster [Concert Master] – Charles Veal, Jr.*Drums – Gary MallaberGuitar – David NichternLead Guitar – Waddy WachtelPiano – Billy Payne*Written-By – Wendy Waldman
B3 Jon The Generator
Arranged By [Horn Arrangement] – Trevor LawrenceBaritone Saxophone [Baritone Sax] – Johnny Rotella*Bass – Willie WeeksBass Trombone – Lew McCrearyDrums – Gary MallaberGuitar – David NichternKeyboards [Keyboard] – Billy Payne*Lead Guitar – Waddy WachtelOrgan – Michael Finnigan*Percussion – Victor FeldmanTenor Saxophone [Tenor Sax] – Trevor LawrenceTrumpet – Steve MadaioWritten-By – John Herald
B4 Wild Bird
Bass, Classical Guitar, Flute – Unknown ArtistWritten-By – Wendy Waldman
B5 As An Eagle Stirreth In Her Nest
Bass – Bill DickinsonDrums – Earl PalmerGuitar – Amos Garrett, David Wilcox (2)Written-By – Rev. W. H. Brewster*

Companies, etc.



"Deliver Me Sweet Harmony"

Mixed and Mastered at Warner Bros. Studio, North Hollywood
Management: for One on One

A1. Jobete Music Co., Inc. - ASCAP
A2. Don Kirshner Music, Inc. - BMI / KEC Music Corp. - ASCAP
A3. Garden Court Music Corp. - ASCAP
A4. Carmichael Music Pub., Inc. - ASCAP
A5. Saturn Music / Staccato Music Co. - BMI
B1. Words & Music, Inc. / TRO-Essex Music, Inc. - ASCAP
B2. Moon & Stars Music - BMI
B3. Flying Fox Music Ltd. - BMI
B4. Wei Chi Music - BMI
B5. Lion Publishing Co., Inc. BMI

Special Thanks: The Fabulous Bezbotics and their Fabulous Ladies, Noel Newbolt, Garry George, Dorothy Jackson, David Nichtern, The Staple Singers, Mildred Bailey, Lee Herschberg, Lloyd Clifft, Jennie, Jamie and the Captain.

J.J. Cale with love from Shelter Records
Linda Ronstadt courtesy of Elektra/Asylum Records

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Label): 31,938
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Label): 31,939
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Etched, 1 ✲ stamped): MS-2235 31938-1-1•W-1 1 ✲
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Etched, 1 ✲ stamped): MS-2235 31939-1-2•W-1 1 ✲
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Price Code (Spine): 0698

Other Versions (5 of 17) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
K 54059 Maria Muldaur Sweet Harmony(LP) Reprise Records K 54059 UK 1976 Sell This Version
P-10164R Maria Muldaur Sweet Harmony(LP, Album) Reprise Records P-10164R Japan 1976 Sell This Version
MS 2235 Maria Muldaur Sweet Harmony(LP, Album, Ter) Reprise Records MS 2235 US 1976 Sell This Version
MS 2235 Maria Muldaur Sweet Harmony(LP, Album) Reprise Records MS 2235 Canada 1976 Sell This Version
WQCP-921 Maria Muldaur Sweet Harmony(CD, Album, RE, RM, SHM) Reprise Records WQCP-921 Japan 2010 Sell This Version