Mark Linskey ‎– Stay Hard Stay Hungry Stay Alive - Songs Of Freedom

Roachender Records ‎– none
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Windfall
2 The Right Way
Songwriter – Mark Linskey
3 Los Desaparecidos
Songwriter – Steve Van Zandt
4 Fight The Good Fight
Songwriter – Mark Linskey
5 The Other Kind
Songwriter – Steve Earle
6 Barrel Of The Gun
Songwriter – Mark Linskey
7 The Unwelcomed Guest
Music By – Billy BraggText By – Woody Guthrie
8 Blaging Souls
Songwriter – Mark Linskey
9 Redemption Song
Songwriter – Bob Marley
10 Poets Run Free
Songwriter – Mark Linskey
11 Crimes Of Freedom
Songwriter – Bob Dylan
12 Altar Of The Open Road
Songwriter – Mark Linskey
13 This Hard Land
Songwriter – Bruce Springsteen



The cover songs on this record (yeah, I'm an old man - I still say record) have been very influential to me as a songwriter. Most of the original songs I recorded on this were directly inspired by these songs. The common thread that runs through all of these songs is freedom. Freedom both in unversal sense, but also on a very personal level.

I'd like to thank Bob, Sam and Ant (the Roachenders) for giving me the opportunity to record this project. Its something that I have wanted to do for a while, and Bob's prodding turned the idea into reality. A big thanks also goes out to Uncle Chris for the pictures.

I would like to thank Mike Carroll and Max Caselnova of Clearcut Recordings for all their great work as usual. I'd also like to thank all of the songwriters that I covered on this CD for their inspiration. Especially Steve Earle, Little Steven, who showed me the power of music to afford change in the world, and Bruce Springsteen, who showed me the power of music to give hope despite what is going on around you, and without whom I would have never picked up a guitar. Most importantly I'd like to thank Kerri, Mom, and the second heart for everything. We're gonna beat this thing one day - or die trying.

Note: The release date is not given on the CD/booklet, but there is a list of cover songs by Steve Earle on his homepage where 2003 is stated!