Martin Phillipps ‎– Sketch Book: Volume One

Flying Nun Records ‎– FNCD415
CD, Album


1 Evadene 2:17
2 February 2:50
3 No More Tigers 2:57
4 Residential Green Cell 2:39
5 Haunt Me 6:30
6 Evermore 2:05
7 Crow 1:40
8 Spring Segment 1:09
9 Carabela 4:58
10 Warm 1:41
11 Secret Garden 3:18
12 Bad Dancer 3:37
13 Small Spark 4:22
14 Witch's Hat 2:31
15 Martini 0:32
16 Sleep Sirens 1:50
17 Hawea 4:21

Companies, etc.


  • Photography – René Harris
  • Transferred By, Design [Realised By]Bryan Spittle
  • Written-By, Producer, Performer, Recorded By, Design [Concept]Martin Phillipps


1988 - 95 Home Demo's & Works-in-Progress

A selection of largely unreleased songs in demo form taken from the ten tapes containing around 200 songs or "song-seeds" I recorded on my Tascam Porta 05 4-track cassette home-studio machine (analog/standard speed) before I wore it out and it died an honourable death.
These recordings are perhaps the closest to the way I hear sounds in my head that I have ever released, but they were only recorded to capture ideas and show my band the moods we would try to capture with the band arrangements. Sometimes the structures, and especially the lyrics, would be altered radically, shortly after these versions were completed. Sometimes we were never able to equal or better what I had quickly, often roughly, thrown down onto cheap tapes with poor quality microphones, and sometimes we way surpassed these solo versions.

I have chosen to release the material that stands on its own, warts and all, as having some sort of magic within. I am thrilled with the results - I hope you will enjoy them as much.

Martin Phillipps, Dunedin, Winter 1999

Transferred at Happy Hagland and Chicken Jacques, Dunedin, early 1999.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 19688 04152 8