Matmos ‎– The Rose Has Teeth In The Mouth Of A Beast

Matador ‎– OLE 677-1
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, 180 Gram

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Roses And Teeth For Ludwig Wittgenstein
Electronics, Guitar [Twang] – Jay Lesser*Field Recording [Cow], Reeds [Goose Call], Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*Percussion [Roses, Teeth], Sounds [Manure], Sampler, Sequenced By, Edited By [Digital] – Drew DanielRead By [Excerpts From Ludwig Wittgenstein's Philosophical Investigations] – Björk Guðmundsdóttir, Laetitia Sonami, Marcus Schmickler, Rose McKereghan, Werner Phillip Schmidt, Zum Zoom
A2 Steam And Sequins For Larry Levan
Drums – Steve GoodfriendElectric Guitar, Horn [Peck], Bass Trumpet – Mark LightcapPerformer [Electronics] – John TalagaSounds [Steam, Sequins], Electronics [Sewing Machine], Synthesizer [ARP 2600], Sampler, Sequenced By, Edited By [Digital] – Drew DanielSynthesizer [ARP 2600] – Matthew Curry*Synthesizer [V-Synth], Tambourine, Shaker, Sounds [Saucepan], Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*Voice – Kalonica McQuesten
A3 Tract For Valerie Solanas
Noises [Cow Uterus, Reproductive Tract, and Vagina, Vacuum Cleaner, Plastic Gloves], Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*Read By [Excerpts From Valerie Solanas' The S.C.U.M. Manifesto] – Barbara Golden, Yalie KumaraSampler, Sequenced By, Edited By [Digital], Percussion [Machete, Knives], Sounds [Scissors, Paper], Electronics [Personal Alarms (Rape Alarms)] – Drew Daniel
B4 Public Sex For Boyd McDonald
Drums – Steve GoodfriendElectric Guitar, Trumpet – Mark LightcapSaxophone – Stephen ThrowerSounds [Pen, Paper, Typewriter], Tape [Video], Sampler, Sequenced By, Edited By [Digital], Synthesizer [ARP 2600] – Drew DanielSynthesizer [ARP 2600, SH 101, V-synth, Juno 6], Tape [Video], Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*
B5 Semen Song For James Bidgood
Arranged By [String Arrangement] – Jefferson FriedmanCello – Clarice JensenKeyboards [V-synth, Piano], Sampler, Sequenced By, Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*Piano [Prepared] – Matthew FuerstSampler, Sequenced By, Edited By [Digital], Panpipes [Toilet Paper Roll Panflute], Sounds [Paper, Semen] – Drew DanielStrings – ACME (American Contemporary Music Ensemble)Transferred By [File Transfers], Effects – Jon LeideckerViola – Bridget FitzgeraldViolin – Erik Carlson (2), Miranda CucksonVoice – Antony Hegarty
B6 Snails And Lasers For Patricia Highsmith
Double Bass – Brian O'Reilly (2)Drums – Steve GoodfriendFrench Horn – Amy VaillancourtPerformer [Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing], Sampler, Sequenced By, Edited By [Digital] – Drew DanielSequenced By, Synthesizer [V-Synth, MS2000], Sounds [Books, Brushes], Sound Designer [Live Garden Snails, Glass Cylinder, Light-Sensitive Theremin] – M.C. Schmidt*
C7 Germs Burn For Darby Crash
Noises [Lighter, Cigarette] – Don BollesPerformer [Arp 2600, Wahl Hair Clipper, Hair], Synthesizer [ARP 2600], Electronics [Wahl Hair Clipper], Sounds [Hair] – M.C. Schmidt*Sampler, Sequenced By, Edited By [Digital], Sounds [Burnt Flesh], Voice [Cry Of Pain] – Drew Daniel
C8 Solo Buttons For Joe Meek
Arranged By [String Arrangement] – Lev "Ljova" Zhurbin*Bass – Jay Lesser*Cello – Jeffrey ZeiglerCo-producer, Written-By, Guitar – Mark LightcapDrums – Steve GoodfriendPerformer [Whinging] – M.C. Schmidt*Strings – Kronos QuartetTape, Synth, Sampler, Sequenced By, Edited By [Digital] – Drew DanielViola – Hank DuttViolin – David Harrington, John Sherba
C9 Kendo For Yuko Mishima
Field Recording – Rudolf Eb.erField Recording, Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*Field Recording, Tape [Tape Deck], Sampler, Sequenced By, Edited By [Digital] – Drew Daniel
D10 Rag For William S. Burrroughs
Electronics – Jay Lesser*Goblet Drum [Darbuka] – Darcy BartolettiPercussion [Burroughs Adding Machine], Electronics [Film Projectors] – Michael Brown (2)Percussion [Heidelberg Windmill, Chandler And Price Printing Presses] – Leif FairfieldPiano [Amateur], Sampler, Synthesizer [V-Synth], Sequenced By, Tape [Tape Recorder], Percussion [Typewriter, Vacuum Cleaner Tube], Horns – M.C. Schmidt*Sampler, Sequenced By, Edited By [Digital], Bombarde [Bombard], Tape [Tape Recorder], Electronics [Shortwave Radio], Sounds [Marbles, Keys], Effects [EFX] – Drew DanielTrumpet – Mark LightcapViolin – Blevin Blectum
D11 Banquet For King Ludwig II Of Bavaria
Drums, Bells [Sleighbells] – Steve GoodfriendFrench Horn – Amy VaillancourtPercussion [Glassware, Dishes, Coconuts], Sampler, Sequenced By, Synthesizer [V-Synth] – M.C. Schmidt*Percussion [Glassware, Dishes], Sampler, Sequenced By, Edited By [Digital] – Drew DanielTuba, Horn [Peck], Wind [Plastic Tube] – Mark LightcapVoice – Maja S. K. Ratkje

Companies, etc.



The sleeve states: "The subjects of these portraits have not granted their consent and do not in any way endorse these unauthorized tributes."
RTI 180 gram vinyl.
Track C9 "Kendo for Yukio Mishima" is not included on the US CD-version of this album.
Tracks listed sequentially on jacket.

Matador Records has included a card with each copy of this vinyl edition with instructions on how to access a zip file of these tracks im mp3 format. Each card contains a unique code for a one time access to the mp3 zip file, which omits track C9.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 744861067719
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, etched): OLE-671-1-A "BACK TO THE ROUGH GROUND" KPG@ATM 14241.1(3)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, etched): OLE-677-1-B "THAT SAILOR WAS WILD AS HELL" KPG@ATM 14241.2(3)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C runout, etched): OLE-677-1-C₂ "DEFECTS IN A DEFECTS MIRROR KPG@ATM 14293.3(3)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D runout, etched): OLE-677-1-D "SLOW MARBLE GHOST HANDS" KPG@ATM 14241.4(3)

Other Versions (5 of 8) View All