Matthew Sweet ‎– Girlfriend: The Superdeformed CD

Zoo Entertainment ‎– 72445-14042-2

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Girlfriend
Bass, Electric Guitar [Rhythm], Acoustic Guitar [Rhythm], Vocals [All] – Matthew SweetDrums – Fred MaherElectric Guitar [Lead] – Robert QuineEngineer – Jim RondinelliLap Steel Guitar – Greg LeiszProducer – Fred Maher, Matthew Sweet
2 Superdeformed (Demo)
Performer [All Instruments], Vocals [All] – Matthew Sweet
3 Teenage Female (Demo)
Performer [All Instruments], Vocals [All] – Matthew SweetRhythm Guitar – Andy McCulla
4 Good Friend (Demo)
Performer [All Instruments], Vocals [All] – Matthew Sweet

Companies, etc.



Track 1 from the album "Girlfriend". Tracks 2 to 4 previously unreleased.

1. Recorded at Axis Studios, New York City, August 1990. "I'm free, you're free — let's do it."
2. Recorded Princeton, NJ, March 1991. "It's a song, it's a band, it's a production company, it's a way of life. Do you dare to reveal the superdeformed within yourself?"
3. Recorded Princeton, NJ, Late 1989. "Like it says in the song, I received a fan letter from a young teenage girl. She was disturbed because she thought she saw a wedding ring on my finger on MTV. The first line of her letter was 'I am a teenage female' — I thought that was such a cool sentence. After the first line, the song is from the girl's perspective. My great friend Andy Mc Culla played one of the guitars on this."
4. Recorded Princeton, NJ, August 1989. "This is a home demo. I played everything on it; I sorta regret taking out the swingy section after the solo in the middle. There's piano on this demo — I don't know why I forgot to add it in the studio. As you can seem the song was originally called 'Good Friend,' but people kept thinking I was saying 'Girlfriend,' so I changed it."

Comes in slimline CD case with insert.

Published by EMI Blackwood Music Inc. / Charm Trap Music (BMI).
Tmk(s) ® Registered BMG Music, except Zoo Entertainment Logo ™ BMG Music • ℗ & © 1991 BMG Music. All rights reserved. Manufactured and distributed by BMG Music. Printed in USA.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 7 2445-14042-2 3
  • Barcode (Scanned): 724451404223
  • Matrix / Runout: DISC MFG, INC. (H) W.O. 25780-4 72445140422

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All