Max Richter ‎– The Blue Notebooks

130701 ‎– CD13-04
CD, Album


1 The Blue Notebooks 1:20
2 On The Nature Of Daylight 6:11
3 Horizon Variations 1:52
4 Shadow Journal 8:22
5 Iconography 3:38
6 Vladimir's Blues 1:18
7 Arboretum 2:53
8 Old Song 2:11
9 Organum 3:13
10 The Trees 7:52
11 Written On The Sky 1:39

Companies, etc.



Texts from 'Hymn o Perle' ('Hymn of the Pearl') and 'Nieobjeta Ziemia' ('The Unencompassed Earth') by Czeslaw Milosz and 'The Blue Octavo Notebooks' by Franz Kafka, translated by Ernst Kaiser and Eithne Wilkins (Cambridge, MA: Exact Change, 1991).

Recorded at Eastcote by Philip Bagnel and Hear No Evil Studios by Steve Parr.

© Max Richter 2004
℗ 130701 Records 2004

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text on Obi Strip): 6 00116 13042 6
  • Barcode (Reader): 600116130426
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, 2, 3): [Sonopress logo] 50902512/CD1304 01
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2, 3): IFPI LB 45
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0788
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0779
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0781

Other Versions (5 of 6) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CD13-04 Max Richter The Blue Notebooks(CD, Album, RE) 130701 CD13-04 UK Unknown Sell This Version
none Max Richter The Blue Notebooks(12xFile, MP3, 320) Deutsche Grammophon none UK, Europe & US 2014
LP13-04X Max Richter The Blue Notebooks(LP, Ltd, RM, 180) 130701 LP13-04X UK 2008 Sell This Version
0289 479 4185 GH Max Richter The Blue Notebooks(LP, Album, RE, 180) Deutsche Grammophon 0289 479 4185 GH Germany 2015 Sell This Version
479 4443, 00289 479 4443 Max Richter The Blue Notebooks(CD, Album, RE) Deutsche Grammophon, Deutsche Grammophon 479 4443, 00289 479 4443 Germany 2015 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



April 2, 2014
Stunning, breathtaking, amazing!!!


April 7, 2005
edited over 12 years ago

This album is a perfect example of music that sounds oddly familiar yet intriguing at the same time. Throughout the album, a woman reads various passages from Kafka's "The Blue Octavo Notebooks." While it is tempting to classify this album as a concept album because of this narrative novelty, Richter is most concerned with getting to the climactic workings of successful Steve Reich and Philip Glass classical pieces. This is no negativism; in fact, Richter is more interested in their dramatic workings, which he employs perfectly with his personal touch of electronics (perhaps carried over from his previous production work with Roni Size or Future Sound of London), than the trademark destruction of composition of Reich and Glass. Because of this conservative approach, "The Blue Notebooks" has something for all music fans: electronic, classical, or rock-oriented music like Sigur Ros. Highly recommended.